How the Five Compare on the Numbers
The five picks differ first by tray count. Zopnny ships three trays, DoughMate and GSM Brands ship two, and GATBO and BSTKEY ship one. DoughMate is the only pick that publishes an interior tray size, 16 by 11 by 2.75 inches, and it states each tray fits 6 dough balls at 8 to 10 ounces. GATBO states its box fits up to 6 dough balls, and BSTKEY states 4 to 6 dough balls. Zopnny, GSM Brands, and BSTKEY publish no dough ball count.
Published weights range from 1.0 pound for the Zopnny three pack to 2.2 pounds for the single GATBO box. DoughMate states 1.66 pounds, BSTKEY states 1.33 pounds, and GSM Brands publishes no weight. Stated dimensions also vary: Zopnny at 17.32 by 12.63 by 4.56 inches, GSM Brands at 17.25 by 13 by 3.54 inches, GATBO at 15.67 by 11.69 by 4.09 inches, and BSTKEY at 11.8 by 8.3 by 3.3 inches. DoughMate publishes a stacked kit size of 17.75 by 13 by 7 inches.
The table does not tell you how any box performs in a refrigerator, how the plastic ages, or whether the lid seal holds after repeated washing. It also does not tell you the interior size of four of the five picks, because those makers do not publish it. A stated exterior size is not the same as the space inside, and the sheet does not let you convert one to the other.
Tray Count and Dough Ball Capacity
What the makers state about dough balls
DoughMate is the most specific. It states each tray fits 6 dough balls at 8 to 10 ounces and publishes an interior size of 16 by 11 by 2.75 inches. That combination lets you estimate how tightly the dough balls sit, though the maker does not state spacing. The kit ships with two trays, so the stated total is 12 dough balls across the set when both trays are used.
GATBO states its single box fits up to 6 dough balls, and BSTKEY states 4 to 6 dough balls in a 4200 milliliter box. Zopnny and GSM Brands publish no dough ball count at all. For those two the only published guide is the tray size, and a tray size alone does not state how many dough balls fit, because neither maker states a dough ball diameter.
How tray count changes the purchase
Zopnny ships three trays, the highest count among the five picks. DoughMate and GSM Brands ship two trays each. GATBO and BSTKEY ship one tray each. If you proof in batches and want each dough ball in its own tray, the three tray Zopnny set covers the most separate trays per pack, though the maker does not publish an interior size for those trays.
A single tray box such as GATBO or BSTKEY suits a small batch. GATBO states up to 6 dough balls in one box, and BSTKEY states 4 to 6. If you need more than that at once, you would need more than one box, and the maker does not publish a multi pack option for either. The two tray and three tray sets avoid that step.
Materials, Lids, and Cleaning
Plastic, stainless steel, and polyethylene
Four picks use plastic. DoughMate states high impact copolymer polypropylene with reinforced corners and a smooth wall interior. GATBO states commercial grade polypropylene. Zopnny and GSM Brands state food grade plastic without naming the polymer. None of the four publishes a wall thickness, so the polymer name is the whole of what the sheet says about how each will age.
BSTKEY is the only pick with a stainless steel body. It states 316 stainless steel for the container and a BPA free plastic lid. The maker states the body is dishwasher safe and notes that the plastic lid is not. That split matters if you plan to wash the whole box in a dishwasher, because the lid would need hand washing.
Lid behavior and fermentation style
The makers describe two lid types. BSTKEY states an airtight sealing lid that locks in moisture for cold fermentation and overnight proofing. GATBO states a non airtight lid that allows slight airflow to reduce condensation. Zopnny states a lid that is not airtight but keeps the top of the dough moist. These are opposite stated behaviors, and the maker’s description is the only guide on the sheet.
DoughMate states its lid maintains ideal moisture for fermentation and that trays nest under one lid. GSM Brands states covers are included and that basins stack when covers are removed. None of the five makers publishes a seal rating, a gasket material, or a temperature limit for the lid, so the sheet cannot tell you how each lid behaves over many uses.
Stacking and the Shelf Space Each Set Needs
What each maker says about stacking
All five state that the boxes stack, and only one says it works with the lids left on. GATBO states the containers stack securely whether the lids are used or not. Zopnny and GSM Brands both state that the basins stack together once the covers are removed, which is nesting for storage rather than stacking while dough proofs. BSTKEY states stackable and leaves it there.
DoughMate describes a different arrangement again: the trays nest securely and only one lid is needed to hold moisture across the set. That is why a two tray kit arrives with a single cover. It means the kit works as one unit, and a tray in use is a tray without a lid, which is a trade the listing states plainly rather than leaving for a buyer to discover.
What the published sizes mean for a shelf
The footprints are not close to each other. BSTKEY is 11.8 by 8.3 by 3.3 inches, GATBO is 15.67 by 11.69 by 4.09 inches, GSM Brands is 17.25 by 13 by 3.54 inches per tray and Zopnny is 17.32 by 12.63 by 4.56 inches per tray. So the stated long sides run from 11.8 inches to 17.32 inches, a spread of 5.52 inches across four of the picks.
DoughMate is the only pick that publishes a figure for the assembled set, 17.75 by 13 by 7 inches with both trays and the lid, and that 7 inch height is the only published number here describing a stack rather than a single box. For the other four a shelf has to be planned by multiplying one box, which overstates it, because none of them publishes how far the boxes nest into each other.
Which One Fits Your Kitchen
Home pizza maker with a standard refrigerator. The DoughMate kit publishes an interior tray size of 16 by 11 by 2.75 inches and a stacked size of 17.75 by 13 by 7 inches. Those figures let you check shelf fit before buying, and the kit includes a scraper.
Baker who wants the most trays per pack. The Zopnny three pack ships three trays at 17.32 by 12.63 by 4.56 inches each. It is the highest tray count among the five picks, and the stated weight is 1.0 pound for the set.
Kitchen that tracks batches by date. The GATBO box includes a FIFO label sticker and two erasable markers. It states up to 6 dough balls per box and a size of 15.67 by 11.69 by 4.09 inches, with a stated weight of 2.2 pounds.
Buyer who wants a published two tray size. The GSM Brands set states 17.25 by 13 by 3.54 inches per tray and ships two trays with covers. The maker does not publish a weight, so the sheet cannot tell you how heavy the set is.
Buyer who prefers stainless steel. The BSTKEY box states a 316 stainless steel body, a 4200 milliliter capacity, and a fit of 4 to 6 dough balls. The maker notes the plastic lid is not dishwasher safe, so plan to hand wash the lid.
What We Could Not Verify
The sheet leaves several figures unpublished. These are the facts we looked for and could not source from the makers.
- An interior tray size for Zopnny, GATBO, GSM Brands, and BSTKEY. Only DoughMate publishes one.
- A capacity in liters or milliliters for DoughMate, Zopnny, GATBO, and GSM Brands. Only BSTKEY publishes one.
- A weight for GSM Brands. The maker does not publish it.
- A dough ball count for Zopnny and GSM Brands. Neither maker states one.
- A temperature limit or dishwasher rating for the lids on DoughMate, Zopnny, GATBO, and GSM Brands.
- A seal rating or gasket material for any of the five picks. The makers describe lid behavior in words only.