Lush Food & Drink

Buying Guide ·Cookware

Best Electric Griddles for Cooking Breakfast All at Once

The deciding specification is the published cooking surface, which runs from 9.8 by 15.7 inches to 28.5 by 16 inches and is smaller than the name in every case.

By the Lush Editorial Team·Researched & Compared

  • Researched & ComparedSpecs pulled from the manufacturer listing
  • Like-for-LikeSame measures across every model
  • No Paid PlacementsNobody pays to appear here

I compared published cooking surface, wattage, temperature range, plate thickness, grease handling and weight across five electric griddles, using each maker's own listing text and nothing else.

Our shortlist

Five products, one set of published numbers.
  1. ROVSUN 30" Electric Countertop Flat Top Griddle
    Best for holding food warm while you cook

    ROVSUN 30" Electric Countertop Flat Top Griddle

    Two independent heating zones behind 3000 W and a 28.5 by 16 in surface, with splash guards on three sides and a removable grease pan.

    • ROVSUN
    • 30 inch-Plug
    • Weight not listed
  2. ExGizmo 22" Commercial Electric Griddle
    Best for searing rather than warming

    ExGizmo 22" Commercial Electric Griddle

    A 0.39 in cast iron plate under 21.7 by 14.2 in of surface, 1600 W, a range of 122 to 572 F, and brushes and shovels in the box.

    • ExGizmo
    • 54cm*40cm*21cm
    • 39.82 lb
  3. Presto 07061 22-Inch Electric Ceramic Griddle
    Best for putting away in a cabinet

    Presto 07061 22-Inch Electric Ceramic Griddle

    Handles that unclip so a 22 inch griddle fits most standard 18 inch cabinets, over a PFAS free ceramic surface on cast aluminum.

    • Presto
    • 22-inch
    • 5.7 lb
  4. Chefman Electric Griddle with Removable Temperature ...
    Best for a griddle that goes in the dishwasher

    Chefman Electric Griddle with Removable Temperature ...

    A 9.8 by 15.7 in surface that is fully immersible and dishwasher safe once the control is off, at 1200 W and 4.4 lb.

    • Chefman
    • 10" x 16"
    • 4.4 lb
  5. VEVOR Commercial Electric Griddle
    Best for a stall or a cafe counter

    VEVOR Commercial Electric Griddle

    1750 W behind a 17.72 by 11.81 in iron plate 0.31 in thick, free of PFOA and PTFE, with brushes and spatulas included.

    • VEVOR
    • 18"
    • 31.09 lb

Side by side

Blank means the maker does not publish it.
ModelBrandSize (capacity)WeightBest for
ROVSUN 30" Electric Countertop Flat Top Griddle ROVSUN 30 inch-Plug not published Best for holding food warm while you cook
ExGizmo 22" Commercial Electric Griddle ExGizmo 54cm*40cm*21cm 39.82 lb Best for searing rather than warming
Presto 07061 22-Inch Electric Ceramic Griddle Presto 22-inch 5.7 lb Best for putting away in a cabinet
Chefman Electric Griddle with Removable Temperature ... Chefman 10" x 16" 4.4 lb Best for a griddle that goes in the dishwasher
VEVOR Commercial Electric Griddle VEVOR 18" 31.09 lb Best for a stall or a cafe counter

Each pick in detail

What the listing says for it, and against it.
1 Best for holding food warm while you cook

ROVSUN 30" Electric Countertop Flat Top Griddle

Two independent heating zones behind 3000 W and a 28.5 by 16 in surface, with splash guards on three sides and a removable grease pan.

  • For it
  • 28.5 by 16 in of published cooking surface, the largest on this page
  • Two independent heating zones, so finished food can be held while more cooks
  • 3000 W, the highest wattage published here
  • Splash guards on three sides plus a removable drip tray and a grease catch pan
  • Against it
  • Publishes no weight at all, on the largest machine on this page
  • Publishes no plate thickness, describing it only as thick
  • Describes the surface as seasoned and nonstick without naming the material
2 Best for searing rather than warming

ExGizmo 22" Commercial Electric Griddle

A 0.39 in cast iron plate under 21.7 by 14.2 in of surface, 1600 W, a range of 122 to 572 F, and brushes and shovels in the box.

  • For it
  • A 0.39 in plate, also given as 10 mm, the greater of the two plate figures published here
  • Cast iron over food grade stainless steel, stated not to deform
  • 21.7 by 14.2 in of published cooking surface at 1600 W
  • A stated range of 122 to 572 F, matching the widest range here
  • Against it
  • Publishes 39.82 lb, the heaviest weight here, so it is not moving once placed
  • Says nothing about immersion or dishwasher use
  • Publishes its size field in centimeters while the surface is quoted in inches
3 Best for putting away in a cabinet

Presto 07061 22-Inch Electric Ceramic Griddle

Handles that unclip so a 22 inch griddle fits most standard 18 inch cabinets, over a PFAS free ceramic surface on cast aluminum.

  • For it
  • Detachable handles that let the griddle fit most standard 18 inch cabinets
  • A PFAS free ceramic coating with a textured surface, named as such
  • A heavy cast aluminum base the maker calls virtually warp proof
  • Fully immersible once the heat control is detached, with a slide out drip tray
  • Against it
  • Publishes no cooking surface in two figures, only the words extra large
  • Publishes no wattage and no temperature range at all
  • Its published dimension fields of 10.33 by 4.53 by 0.98 in cannot describe a 22 inch griddle
4 Best for a griddle that goes in the dishwasher

Chefman Electric Griddle with Removable Temperature ...

A 9.8 by 15.7 in surface that is fully immersible and dishwasher safe once the control is off, at 1200 W and 4.4 lb.

  • For it
  • Fully immersible and dishwasher safe once the temperature control is removed
  • A published 9.8 by 15.7 in cooking surface against a 10 by 16 inch name
  • A stated range of 200 to 420 F at 1200 W and 120 V
  • 4.4 lb, the lightest published weight here
  • Against it
  • The smallest published cooking surface of these five
  • A 420 F ceiling, well below the 570 F and 572 F the commercial picks publish
  • Publishes no plate thickness and no plate material beyond nonstick
5 Best for a stall or a cafe counter

VEVOR Commercial Electric Griddle

1750 W behind a 17.72 by 11.81 in iron plate 0.31 in thick, free of PFOA and PTFE, with brushes and spatulas included.

  • For it
  • 1750 W behind 17.72 by 11.81 in, the most power per unit of surface among the four that publish both
  • A 0.31 in iron plate, also given as 8 mm, stated free of PFOA and PTFE
  • A stainless steel body with a stated range of 122 to 570 F
  • An enlarged drip hole and a detachable oil tray
  • Against it
  • 31.09 lb published, so it is a counter fixture rather than a stored appliance
  • Says nothing about immersion or dishwasher use
  • Publishes the smallest cooking surface of the three commercial picks

Our verdict

ROVSUN publishes the largest surface here, 28.5 by 16 in behind 3000 W, with two independent heating zones. ExGizmo publishes 21.7 by 14.2 in over a 0.39 in cast iron plate at 1600 W. VEVOR publishes 17.72 by 11.81 in over a 0.31 in iron plate at 1750 W. Chefman publishes 9.8 by 15.7 in at 1200 W and is fully immersible. Presto publishes no surface figures, no wattage and no temperature range at all.

“The inch on the box is not the cooking surface.”

Lush Editorial Team

What separates these five

Cooking surface published ROVSUN 28.5 by 16 in, ExGizmo 21.7 by 14.2 in, VEVOR 17.72 by 11.81 in, Chefman 9.8 by 15.7 in. Presto publishes none.
Wattage published ROVSUN 3000 W, VEVOR 1750 W, ExGizmo 1600 W, Chefman 1200 W. Presto publishes no wattage at all.
Temperature range ExGizmo and ROVSUN 122 to 572 F, VEVOR 122 to 570 F, Chefman 200 to 420 F. Presto publishes no range.
Plate thickness ExGizmo 0.39 in and VEVOR 0.31 in. The other three call the plate thick, heavy or warp proof with no figure.
Washing and storing Chefman and Presto are both stated fully immersible with the control removed. The three commercial picks say nothing about it.

How we chose

Priorities, not a computed score. The inputs are published specifications, so we rank by what matters most and say how much.

  1. 30% Published cooking surfaceIt is what decides how many things cook at once, and the four that publish it all publish a figure smaller than the name they are sold under.
  2. 20% Wattage against that surfacePower only means something next to the area it heats, and this pool runs from 1200 W over 9.8 by 15.7 in to 3000 W over 28.5 by 16 in.
  3. 20% Plate thickness and materialHeat retention decides whether the second batch cooks like the first, and only two of these five publish a thickness at all.
  4. 15% Cleaning and storageTwo picks are stated fully immersible and one has handles that unclip for a cabinet, while the three commercial machines publish drainage and nothing about washing.
  5. 15% Claims that can be checkedExtra large with no dimensions, thick with no millimeters and warp proof with no test are words rather than specifications.

How the Five Compare on the Numbers

Five listings came back for this keyword and all five are powered flat top griddles, so nothing had to be dropped for being the wrong tool. Three describe themselves as commercial and two as countertop family machines, and the gap between those two groups is larger than the names suggest: the weights that are published run from 4.4 lb to 39.82 lb.

The figure that decides this page is the published cooking surface, and it is not the number in the product name. Chefman is sold as 10 by 16 inches and publishes a 9.8 by 15.7 in surface. VEVOR is sold as 18 inches and publishes 17.72 by 11.81 in. ExGizmo is sold as 22 inches and publishes 21.7 by 14.2 in. ROVSUN is sold as 30 inches and publishes 28.5 by 16 in.

Specification Presto Chefman VEVOR ExGizmo ROVSUN
Name on the listing 22 inch 10 by 16 inches 18 inches 22 inches 30 inches
Cooking surface published not published 9.8 by 15.7 in 17.72 by 11.81 in 21.7 by 14.2 in 28.5 by 16 in
Wattage published not published 1200 W 1750 W 1600 W 3000 W
Temperature range published not published 200 to 420 F 122 to 570 F 122 to 572 F 122 to 572 F
Plate thickness published not published not published 0.31 in, or 8 mm 0.39 in, or 10 mm not published
Plate material Cast aluminum under a PFAS free ceramic coating Nonstick, material not stated Iron, stated free of PFOA and PTFE Cast iron, stated nonstick Seasoned nonstick, material not stated
Body material Heavy cast aluminum not published Stainless steel Food grade stainless steel Food grade stainless steel
Heating zones One heat control One heat control One heat control One heat control Two independent zones
Weight published 5.7 lb 4.4 lb 31.09 lb 39.82 lb not published
Grease handling Slide out drip tray Drip tray Enlarged drip hole and detachable oil tray Oil leakage hole and oil storage box Removable drip tray and grease catch pan
Immersible for washing Fully immersible with the control removed Fully immersible and dishwasher safe not published not published not published
Storage or splash feature Detachable handles, fits most 18 inch cabinets not published not published not published Splash guards on three sides
Tools included not published not published Brushes and spatulas Brushes and shovels not published
Warranty stated not published 1 year not published not published not published
Published dimension fields 10.33 by 4.53 by 0.98 in, discarded below 18.6 by 10 by 3.2 in 17.83 by 16.14 by 8.19 in 21.3 by 15.8 by 8.3 in 28.7 by 20 by 8.6 in

The Presto row of published dimensions is in the table only so it can be dismissed in the open. A 22 inch griddle with a heat control probe is not 10.33 in across and it is certainly not 0.98 in tall. Where the fields and the maker’s own words disagree this page uses the maker’s words, so Presto is treated here as a 22 inch griddle whose surface is never given in two figures. The table also cannot tell you how evenly any of these heats, which is the only thing that separates a good griddle from a large hotplate.

The Inch on the Box and the Inch You Cook On

Every Surface Published Is Smaller Than the Name

Chefman calls the machine 10 by 16 inches in its size field and publishes a 9.8 by 15.7 in cooking surface. ROVSUN is a 30 inch griddle with 28.5 by 16 in of surface. ExGizmo is a 22 inch griddle with 21.7 by 14.2 in. VEVOR is an 18 inch griddle with 17.72 by 11.81 in, which it also gives as 450 by 300 mm. The pattern holds on all four that publish both.

The reason is the frame. A flat top griddle needs a lip, a drip channel and somewhere for the element to terminate, so the plate is always inset from the outer edge. That is not deceptive, but it does mean the inch in the name is the machine and not the cooking area, and a buyer counting pancakes should be working from the second pair of figures rather than the first.

One Griddle Publishes No Surface Figures at All

Presto is the exception, and it is the only pick here that never states its cooking area in two dimensions. It is sold as a 22 inch griddle, describes the surface as extra large and expansive, and leaves it there. The only other measurement in the listing is a storage claim: with the handles unclipped it fits most standard 18 inch cabinets, which is a useful figure about a cupboard rather than about cooking.

That leaves the one household name in this pool as the hardest to compare. ExGizmo is also sold as 22 inches and publishes 21.7 by 14.2 in, so the two share a name and only one shares a number. Whether the Presto surface is close to that is not something the listing supports, and this page does not assume it.

Watts, Temperature and the Plate Underneath

1200 Watts to 3000 Watts, and One Silence

ROVSUN publishes 3000 W behind 28.5 by 16 in of surface. VEVOR publishes 1750 W behind 17.72 by 11.81 in, ExGizmo 1600 W behind 21.7 by 14.2 in and Chefman 1200 W behind 9.8 by 15.7 in. Watts per square inch is not a figure any of them prints, but the pattern is visible: VEVOR puts the most power behind the least surface of the four.

Presto publishes no wattage at all, describing a Control Master heat control system that holds a set temperature automatically. Since it also publishes no temperature range, the one thing this listing says about heat is that the machine manages it for you. That is a design philosophy rather than a specification, and it is a real gap on a page where the other four all publish both figures.

Two Makers Publish a Plate Thickness

ExGizmo publishes 0.39 in, which it also gives as 10 mm, in a cast iron plate it says will not deform. VEVOR publishes 0.31 in, or 8 mm, in an iron plate. Those are the only two thickness figures in this pool and they are the figure that matters most on a commercial style griddle, because a thin plate loses its temperature the moment cold meat lands on it and then recovers unevenly.

ROVSUN describes a thick cooking plate for heat retention without publishing a number. Presto describes a heavy cast aluminum base it calls virtually warp proof, also without a figure. Chefman publishes nothing about the plate beyond nonstick. Temperature ranges tell a similar story: VEVOR, ExGizmo and ROVSUN all start at 122 F and reach 570 F or 572 F, while Chefman runs 200 to 420 F and Presto publishes no range.

Cleaning, Storing and Getting It Off the Counter

Which of These Can Go Under a Tap

Two can, and they are the two light ones. Chefman states the cook top is fully immersible and dishwasher safe once the temperature control is removed. Presto states the cast aluminum base is fully immersible when the heat control is detached. Neither VEVOR, ExGizmo nor ROVSUN says anything about immersion, which on a stainless steel commercial body with a fixed element is not a surprise and is still a gap.

What the three commercial machines publish instead is drainage. VEVOR describes an enlarged drip hole and a detachable oil tray, ExGizmo an oil leakage hole feeding an oil storage box, and ROVSUN a removable drip tray with a separate grease catch pan. Both VEVOR and ExGizmo also include brushes and scraping tools in the box, which the two household machines do not.

Weight, Splash Guards and Where It Lives

ExGizmo publishes 39.82 lb and VEVOR 31.09 lb. Those are not machines that come out for pancakes and go back in a cupboard; they are machines that live on a counter. Chefman publishes 4.4 lb, the lightest published weight here, and Presto 5.7 lb. ROVSUN, the largest surface on the page, publishes no weight at all, which is the single most useful figure it could have given.

Presto is the only pick that addresses storage directly, with handles that unclip so the griddle fits most standard 18 inch cabinets. ROVSUN is the only one that addresses the counter around it, with splash guards on three sides. Those two features answer opposite questions, and between them they describe the two ends of this page better than the wattage does.

Which One Fits Your Kitchen

A weekend cook feeding a table at once. ROVSUN, for 28.5 by 16 in of surface, 3000 W and two independent heating zones so finished food can be held warm at one end. It publishes no weight, so ask before it arrives.

Somebody searing steak as well as frying eggs. ExGizmo, for a 0.39 in cast iron plate, 21.7 by 14.2 in of surface and a range of 122 to 572 F. At 39.82 lb it is the heaviest here and it stays where you put it.

A small kitchen with a cupboard to fill. Presto, for detachable handles that let a 22 inch griddle fit most standard 18 inch cabinets, a PFAS free ceramic surface and a base that is fully immersible once the control is off.

Breakfast for two and no extra washing up. Chefman, for a 9.8 by 15.7 in surface that is fully immersible and dishwasher safe, 1200 W, a 200 to 420 F range and 4.4 lb to lift. It is the only pick here stating a warranty.

A stall, a cafe or a very serious home cook. VEVOR, for 1750 W behind a 17.72 by 11.81 in plate 0.31 in thick, iron with no PFOA or PTFE, plus brushes and spatulas included and 31.09 lb of stainless steel around it.

What We Could Not Verify

Every figure above comes from the maker’s own listing text. These are the things we went looking for and could not source in any of them.

  • No listing publishes a heat up time, so a 3000 W griddle and a 1200 W griddle cannot be compared on how long anyone waits before the first pancake.
  • No listing publishes a temperature recovery figure, which on a flat top is what decides whether the second batch cooks like the first.
  • Presto publishes no wattage, no temperature range and no cooking surface in two figures, so the best known name here sits outside three of the five key rows.
  • ROVSUN publishes no weight, and it is the largest surface and the highest wattage on the page, so the figure a buyer needs for a counter is the one missing.
  • Three of the five publish no plate thickness, describing the plate as thick or warp proof instead, which leaves heat retention unquantified on most of this page.
  • No listing publishes how evenly the surface heats or where the cold spots are, which is the only thing that separates a griddle from a large hotplate.

Frequently asked questions

Why is the cooking surface smaller than the size in the name?+

Because the name describes the machine and the surface describes the plate. A flat top needs a lip, a drip channel and somewhere for the element to end, so the plate is inset from the outer edge. Chefman is sold as 10 by 16 inches and publishes 9.8 by 15.7 in. ROVSUN is sold as 30 inches and publishes 28.5 by 16 in. ExGizmo is sold as 22 inches and publishes 21.7 by 14.2 in. The pattern holds on every pick that publishes both.

How many watts does an electric griddle need?+

It depends entirely on the area being heated, and this page spans a wide range. Chefman publishes 1200 W over 9.8 by 15.7 in, VEVOR 1750 W over 17.72 by 11.81 in, ExGizmo 1600 W over 21.7 by 14.2 in and ROVSUN 3000 W over 28.5 by 16 in. None of them publishes watts per square inch, so the comparison has to be assembled from the two figures. Presto publishes no wattage at all.

Does plate thickness matter on an electric griddle?+

It decides how well the surface holds temperature when cold food lands on it. ExGizmo publishes 0.39 in, also given as 10 mm, in cast iron. VEVOR publishes 0.31 in, or 8 mm, in iron. Those are the only two figures in this pool. ROVSUN describes a thick plate, Presto a heavy cast aluminum base it calls virtually warp proof, and Chefman says nothing about the plate beyond nonstick, so three of five leave heat retention unquantified.

Can an electric griddle be put in water or a dishwasher?+

On two of these five, yes, and both say so explicitly. Chefman states the cook top is fully immersible and dishwasher safe once the temperature control is removed. Presto states the cast aluminum base is fully immersible when the heat control is detached. VEVOR, ExGizmo and ROVSUN publish nothing about immersion, and all three are stainless steel bodies with fixed elements, so that silence should be read as a no until the seller confirms otherwise.

What temperature range do these electric griddles cover?+

The three commercial picks reach far higher than the two household ones. ExGizmo and ROVSUN both publish 122 to 572 F, and VEVOR publishes 122 to 570 F, which is the range needed for searing. Chefman publishes 200 to 420 F, enough for pancakes, eggs and burgers but not for a hard sear. Presto publishes no range at all, describing only a Control Master system that holds a set temperature automatically.

Why were the Presto dimension figures ignored?+

Because they cannot belong to the product. The listing publishes 10.33 by 4.53 by 0.98 in against a griddle it calls 22 inch, and no griddle with a plug in heat control is under an inch tall. Where a listing's dimension fields contradict the maker's own words, this page follows the words, so Presto is treated as a 22 inch griddle with an unpublished cooking area. The discarded figures are left in the table so the decision is visible.

Specifications come from the manufacturers' own published listings. Lush Food & Drink may earn a commission if you buy through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. How we research.