
MUMSUNG Empanada Maker Press
Four press sizes from 2.6 to 6 inches plus a dough cutter and spoons in 304 stainless steel.
- 6"+4"+3“+2.6”
- 1.66 lb
The deciding specification is published heat rating and cooktop compatibility, and none of these presses publishes a heat rating.
By the Lush Editorial Team·Researched & Compared
I compared the eight dumpling presses on the fact sheet by their published features, dimensions, and weights, using only what each manufacturer states.

Four press sizes from 2.6 to 6 inches plus a dough cutter and spoons in 304 stainless steel.

Same four sizes and steel cutters, published at 1.74 pounds against the other set's 1.66.

One 4 inch press that cuts, folds, and crimps in a single motion, at 0.21 pounds.

A tray form that presses six at a time and includes a recipe and instructions.

An aluminum pierogi maker that forms six pieces per press, published at 0.6 pounds.
| Model | Brand | Size (Capacity) | Weight | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MUMSUNG Empanada Maker Press | MUMSUNG | 6"+4"+3“+2.6” | 1.66 lb | Best four-size set with steel cutters |
| MUMSUNG Empanada Maker Press | MUMSUNG | 6"+4"+3“+2.6” | 1.74 lb | Best four-size set, slightly heavier build |
| Helen's Asian Kitchen Dumpling Press | Helen's Asian Kitchen | 4-Inch Diameter | 0.21 lb | Best single press for small batches |
| Norpro Pierogi Maker with Plastic Press | Norpro | 7 Ounce | 0.45 lb | Best for making six pierogies at once |
| Fox Run Pierogi Maker | Fox Run | 4 x 10.5 x 1 inches | 0.6 lb | Best aluminum tray for six at a time |

Four press sizes from 2.6 to 6 inches plus a dough cutter and spoons in 304 stainless steel.

Same four sizes and steel cutters, published at 1.74 pounds against the other set's 1.66.

One 4 inch press that cuts, folds, and crimps in a single motion, at 0.21 pounds.

A tray form that presses six at a time and includes a recipe and instructions.

An aluminum pierogi maker that forms six pieces per press, published at 0.6 pounds.
For electric stoves, the published heat rating and cooktop compatibility decide the choice, and none of these presses publishes either figure. What the makers do publish points to three workable picks. The MUMSUNG sets (B0C1JTRQ1J and B0C611Q67Z) list food-grade plastic and 304 stainless steel cutters, and the Norpro and Fox Run pierogi makers list aluminum or plastic bodies. The Helen's Asian Kitchen press is the lightest at 0.21 pounds. Because no maker publishes a heat rating, treat every pick as a countertop tool, not a stovetop one.
“No maker here publishes a heat rating, so keep every press off the burner.”
Lush Food & Drink
No maker on this sheet publishes a heat rating or a cooktop compatibility statement, so there is no published figure that supports stovetop use. The materials listed are plastic, aluminum, and stainless steel, and no maximum temperature is given. Treat every press as a countertop tool and keep it off the burner.
The Helen's Asian Kitchen press is the lightest at 0.21 pounds and measures 4 inches in diameter, 5.3 inches in depth, and 2.3 inches in height. The manufacturer states it is compact for drawer storage. The two MUMSUNG sets are published at 1.66 and 1.74 pounds, so they take more room.
The two MUMSUNG sets each include a matching dough cutter and spoons, and the maker states the cutters are 304 stainless steel. The Zoie + Chloe set states that the back side of each press cuts a dough circle. The Helen's Asian Kitchen press cuts dough circles as part of its single-motion action.
The Norpro and Fox Run pierogi makers each form six pieces per press. The Helen's Asian Kitchen press, the Zoie + Chloe set, the PrepWorks set, the OFFSCH set, and both MUMSUNG sets form one dumpling at a time per press, though the MUMSUNG sets give you four press sizes to work through.
Helen's Asian Kitchen states its press is dishwasher safe. Both MUMSUNG sets state the set is easy to clean. Zoie + Chloe states its molds are dishwasher safe. Norpro recommends hand washing. Fox Run and OFFSCH do not publish a cleaning method, so the manufacturer does not state one.
The two MUMSUNG sets publish four sizes: 6, 4, 3, and 2.6 inches. The Zoie + Chloe set publishes 4, 5, and 6 inches. The PrepWorks set publishes 4, 5, and 6 inches. Helen's Asian Kitchen publishes a single 4 inch diameter. Norpro and Fox Run publish a six-piece tray form rather than a diameter.
Specifications come from the manufacturers' own published listings. Lush Food & Drink may earn a commission if you buy through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. How we research.
Electric stoves change this choice because the deciding figures are a published heat rating and a cooktop compatibility statement, and no maker on this sheet publishes either one. What the makers do publish is material, size, weight, and cleaning method. Those are the figures that separate the five picks below, and they are the only ones I can use.
The table sets out what each maker states. Where a cell reads not published, the manufacturer does not publish that figure. The two MUMSUNG sets share the same four sizes and steel cutters, and differ only in published weight, 1.66 pounds against 1.74 pounds. The Helen’s Asian Kitchen press is the lightest at 0.21 pounds.
| Specification | MUMSUNG B0C1JTRQ1J | MUMSUNG B0C611Q67Z | Helen’s Asian Kitchen B000PLUIIS | Norpro B008VD7T2U | Fox Run B004FS2BQE |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published heat rating | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published |
| Cooktop compatibility | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published |
| Press sizes | 6, 4, 3, 2.6 inches | 6, 4, 3, 2.6 inches | 4 inches | Six-piece tray | Six-piece tray |
| Pieces per press | One | One | One | Six | Six |
| Weight | 1.66 lb | 1.74 lb | 0.21 lb | 0.45 lb | 0.6 lb |
| Width | 4.0 in | 4.0 in | 2.0 in | 1.0 in | 10.5 in |
| Depth | 7.7 in | 7.7 in | 5.3 in | 3.75 in | 4.0 in |
| Height | 7.7 in | 7.7 in | 2.3 in | 10.25 in | 1.0 in |
| Material | Food-grade plastic, 304 stainless steel cutters | Food-grade plastic, 304 stainless steel cutters | BPA-free plastic | Plastic press | Aluminum |
| Cleaning | Easy to clean | Easy to clean | Dishwasher safe | Hand washing recommended | not published |
The table does not tell you how any press behaves on a hot surface, because no maker publishes a heat rating or a maximum temperature. It also does not tell you how the plastic bodies respond to repeated washing, since no maker publishes a durability figure. What it does tell you is size, weight, material, and cleaning method, and those are the figures a buyer can act on.
Helen’s Asian Kitchen states its press is made from BPA-free plastic. Both MUMSUNG sets state a thickened food-grade plastic body with 304 stainless steel cutters and spoons. Fox Run states an aluminum body. Norpro states a plastic press. These are the only material statements on the sheet, and none of them comes with a temperature limit.
Because no temperature limit is published, the material statement alone cannot support stovetop use. A buyer who wants to press dough near an electric stove can do so on the counter, and the published materials are consistent with that. The aluminum body of the Fox Run maker is the only metal body on the sheet, and its maker still publishes no heat rating.
Helen’s Asian Kitchen states dishwasher safe. Both MUMSUNG sets state easy to clean. Norpro recommends hand washing. Fox Run and OFFSCH do not publish a cleaning method, so the manufacturer does not state one. The Zoie + Chloe and PrepWorks sets state dishwasher safe, though neither is among the five picks here.
Storage follows the published dimensions. The Helen’s Asian Kitchen press measures 2.0 inches in width, 5.3 inches in depth, and 2.3 inches in height, and the maker states it is compact for drawer storage. The two MUMSUNG sets measure 4.0 inches in width and 7.7 inches in both depth and height, so they need more room.
The Helen’s Asian Kitchen press cuts dough circles, folds dough evenly in half, and crimps edges to seal in a single motion, according to the maker. It forms one dumpling per press. The two MUMSUNG sets also form one at a time, but each set includes four press sizes, so a cook can match the press to the dough diameter.
The Norpro and Fox Run pierogi makers work differently. Each forms six pieces per press. Norpro states the maker presses dough into a form, which is then filled and sealed with another sheet of dough. Fox Run states the same method. For a batch of six, those two trays do the work of six passes with a single press.
Norpro states that a recipe and instructions are included. That is the only published inclusion of its kind on the sheet. The two MUMSUNG sets each include a matching dough cutter and spoons, and the maker states the cutters are 304 stainless steel and will not rust.
Fox Run states the maker is capable of making six pieces at a time and can be used for desserts and pastries as well as pierogis. Helen’s Asian Kitchen lists potstickers, wontons, pierogi, empanadas, turnovers, ravioli, and hand pies among its uses. None of these statements is a heat rating, and none changes the countertop guidance.
Buyer who wants four sizes in one set. The MUMSUNG B0C1JTRQ1J set publishes 6, 4, 3, and 2.6 inch presses plus a dough cutter and 304 stainless steel spoons, at 1.66 pounds. The B0C611Q67Z set is the same set published at 1.74 pounds.
Buyer with a small drawer. The Helen’s Asian Kitchen press is the lightest pick at 0.21 pounds and measures 2.0 inches wide, 5.3 inches deep, and 2.3 inches tall. The maker states it is compact for drawer storage and dishwasher safe.
Buyer making six at a time. The Norpro pierogi maker forms six pieces per press and includes a recipe and instructions. Hand washing is recommended. It is published at 0.45 pounds.
Buyer who wants an aluminum tray. The Fox Run pierogi maker is built from aluminum and forms six pieces per press, published at 0.6 pounds. The maker states it also works for desserts and pastries.
Buyer who needs a stated cleaning method. Helen’s Asian Kitchen and both MUMSUNG sets publish a cleaning statement. Norpro recommends hand washing. Fox Run and OFFSCH do not publish one, so the manufacturer does not state a method.
Several figures a buyer would want are absent from the sheet. Where a maker states nothing, I have said so rather than fill the gap.