Lush Food & Drink

Buying Guide ·Appliances

Best Infrared Cookers From 1000 to 2200 Watts

The deciding specification is published wattage, and it more than doubles across these five, with only one listing attaching a temperature range to it.

By the Lush Editorial Team·Researched & Compared

  • Researched & ComparedSpecs pulled from the manufacturer listing
  • Like-for-LikeSame measures across every model
  • No Paid PlacementsNobody pays to appear here

I compared published wattage, voltage, temperature ranges, heat settings, burner size, cooling and warranty across five infrared cookers, using only what each maker writes on its own listing.

Our shortlist

Five products, one set of published numbers.
  1. DRINTON Electric Cooktop Hot Plate
    Best for setting a temperature rather than a level

    DRINTON Electric Cooktop Hot Plate

    The only pick publishing a temperature range, 140 to 480 F, alongside 2200 watts at 110 volts, an adjustable 100 to 2200 watt knob, three presets, a 2 hour timer and a fan that keeps running after switch off.

    • DRINTON
    • Large
    • Weight not listed
  2. Electric Hot Plate
    Best for a burner that stores in a drawer

    Electric Hot Plate

    States 1800 watts across 10 power levels with a 24 hour timer and a child safety lock, on a black crystal panel 2.17 inches thick, and publishes a weight of 4.63 pounds where its twin listing publishes none.

    • nuopuplai
    • 11.02*14.17*2.17
    • 4.63 lb
  3. PAYISHO Electric Hot Plate Single Burner Portable Ce...
    Best if the other seller is out of stock

    PAYISHO Electric Hot Plate Single Burner Portable Ce...

    The same burner and the same six bullets as another pick here, at 1800 watts with 10 levels, a 24 hour timer and a child lock, on the same 11.02 by 14.17 inch footprint at a stated 1.97 inches thick.

    • PAYISHO
    • Weight not listed
  4. OVENTE Electric Infrared Single Burner
    Best for matching a pan to the element

    OVENTE Electric Infrared Single Burner

    The only pick that publishes a burner diameter, 7 inches, and advises flat cookware close to that size, at 1000 watts and 120 volts in stainless steel with an auto shut off and a 1 year warranty.

    • OVENTE
    • Infrared
    • 2.4 lb
  5. Nuwave Pro Plus 2 Infrared Countertop Air Fryer Oven
    Best for roasting rather than boiling

    Nuwave Pro Plus 2 Infrared Countertop Air Fryer Oven

    Not a burner at all but an infrared countertop oven, combining infrared with convection and conduction across 10 functions, 100 presets and 50 custom settings, with room for a 10 pound turkey under a clear dome.

    • Nuwave
    • 10lb Capacity
    • 9.4 lb

Side by side

Blank means the maker does not publish it.
ModelBrandSize (capacity)WeightBest for
DRINTON Electric Cooktop Hot Plate DRINTON Large not published Best for setting a temperature rather than a level
Electric Hot Plate nuopuplai 11.02*14.17*2.17 4.63 lb Best for a burner that stores in a drawer
PAYISHO Electric Hot Plate Single Burner Portable Ce... PAYISHO not published not published Best if the other seller is out of stock
OVENTE Electric Infrared Single Burner OVENTE Infrared 2.4 lb Best for matching a pan to the element
Nuwave Pro Plus 2 Infrared Countertop Air Fryer Oven Nuwave 10lb Capacity 9.4 lb Best for roasting rather than boiling

Each pick in detail

What the listing says for it, and against it.
1 Best for setting a temperature rather than a level

DRINTON Electric Cooktop Hot Plate

The only pick publishing a temperature range, 140 to 480 F, alongside 2200 watts at 110 volts, an adjustable 100 to 2200 watt knob, three presets, a 2 hour timer and a fan that keeps running after switch off.

  • For it
  • The only pick publishing a temperature range, 140 to 480 F
  • The highest wattage here, 2200 W, with voltage published at 110 V
  • Power adjustable from 100 W upward, so low simmering is quantified
  • Three presets named, fried, BBQ and soup, plus a 10 to 120 minute timer
  • Against it
  • Publishes no weight at all
  • Publishes no burner diameter, so pan matching is guesswork
  • Offers a guarantee with no period attached
2 Best for a burner that stores in a drawer

Electric Hot Plate

States 1800 watts across 10 power levels with a 24 hour timer and a child safety lock, on a black crystal panel 2.17 inches thick, and publishes a weight of 4.63 pounds where its twin listing publishes none.

  • For it
  • States 1800 W and 10 adjustable levels
  • The longest timer on this page at 24 hours
  • A child safety lock, which only its twin listing also offers
  • The flattest published figure among the burners at 2.17 inches
  • Against it
  • Its six bullets are identical to those of another brand in this pool
  • Two of those bullets make the same argument about 8 levels against 10
  • Publishes no temperature range, no voltage and no burner diameter
3 Best if the other seller is out of stock

PAYISHO Electric Hot Plate Single Burner Portable Ce...

The same burner and the same six bullets as another pick here, at 1800 watts with 10 levels, a 24 hour timer and a child lock, on the same 11.02 by 14.17 inch footprint at a stated 1.97 inches thick.

  • For it
  • States 1800 W and 10 adjustable levels on the same platform as its twin
  • 24 hour timer and a child safety lock
  • The slimmest published height among the burners at 1.97 inches
  • Compatible with stainless, cast iron and non stick cookware, as stated
  • Against it
  • The same listing text as another brand here, bullet for bullet
  • Publishes no weight and no size field
  • Publishes no temperature range, no voltage and no burner diameter
4 Best for matching a pan to the element

OVENTE Electric Infrared Single Burner

The only pick that publishes a burner diameter, 7 inches, and advises flat cookware close to that size, at 1000 watts and 120 volts in stainless steel with an auto shut off and a 1 year warranty.

  • For it
  • The only pick publishing a burner diameter, 7 inches
  • Advises flat cookware as close to the burner size as possible, which no rival does
  • Stainless steel housing with a crystallite ceramic glass top
  • Auto shut off on overheat, with an indicator light for heating
  • Against it
  • The lowest wattage here at 1000 W
  • No timer of any kind published
  • Publishes no temperature range and counts no heat settings
5 Best for roasting rather than boiling

Nuwave Pro Plus 2 Infrared Countertop Air Fryer Oven

Not a burner at all but an infrared countertop oven, combining infrared with convection and conduction across 10 functions, 100 presets and 50 custom settings, with room for a 10 pound turkey under a clear dome.

  • For it
  • Combines infrared with convection and conduction, which no burner here does
  • 10 functions in one, including rotisserie, dehydrate, broil and keep warm
  • 100 presets plus 50 custom memory settings, the most counted controls here
  • States a capacity, a 10 pound turkey, which no other pick publishes
  • Against it
  • Publishes no wattage, no voltage and no temperature range
  • Not a burner, so it cannot heat a pan you already own
  • The heaviest of the five at 9.4 pounds, with the largest published footprint

Our verdict

DRINTON publishes the most, 2200 watts at 110 volts with an adjustable 100 to 2200 watt range and the only temperature range here, 140 to 480 F. nuopuplai and PAYISHO are the same 1800 watt burner under two brands, separated by 0.2 inches of published height. OVENTE is the only one that publishes a burner diameter, 7 inches, at 1000 watts. Nuwave is an infrared oven, not a burner.

“One listing publishes degrees. The other four publish watts.”

Lush Editorial Team

What separates these five

Wattage DRINTON 2200 W, nuopuplai and PAYISHO 1800, OVENTE 1000. Nuwave publishes none at all.
Degrees Only DRINTON publishes a range, 140 to 480 F. The other four offer levels, knobs or presets instead.
Timers 24 hours on the two twin burners, 2 hours on DRINTON, and nothing on OVENTE or Nuwave.
Controls counted 10 levels on two, 3 presets on one, an uncounted knob on one, and 100 presets on the oven.
Pan matching OVENTE alone publishes a 7 inch burner and tells you to match the pan to it.

How we chose

Priorities, not a computed score. The inputs are published specifications, so we rank by what matters most and say how much.

  1. 30% Published wattageOn an infrared plate the element heats glass and the glass heats the pan, so the wattage is the whole budget, and it doubles across these five.
  2. 25% Temperature and how heat is setOne listing gives degrees, two give ten levels, one gives an uncounted knob and one gives a hundred presets with no temperatures.
  3. 20% Whether the listing is a duplicateTwo of these five are the same burner under two brand names, and the only published difference between them is 0.2 inches of height.
  4. 15% Burner diameter and cookware adviceOnly one listing publishes the element size, which is what decides whether heat reaches the pan or the counter.
  5. 10% Safety and warrantyChild locks, overheat cut outs, cooling fans and a single one year warranty are spread unevenly across the five.

How the Five Compare on the Numbers

Two things have to be said before the figures. Nuwave is not a burner: it is an infrared countertop oven with a dome, a fan and a rotisserie, and it is here because it is the only pick in the pool that uses infrared to cook rather than to heat a pan. And nuopuplai and PAYISHO are the same listing under two brand names, bullet for bullet, down to the phrase about being 2 to 3 inches slimmer than other models.

Among the four burners the deciding figure is wattage, and it more than doubles. OVENTE states 1000 watts at 120 volts. nuopuplai and PAYISHO both state 1800 watts. DRINTON states 2200 watts at 110 volts and, alone on this page, publishes both a power range and a temperature range: 100 to 2200 watts and 140 to 480 F.

Specification DRINTON nuopuplai PAYISHO OVENTE Nuwave
What it is Single infrared burner Single infrared burner Single infrared burner Single infrared burner Infrared countertop oven
Wattage published 2200 W 1800 W 1800 W 1000 W not published
Voltage published 110 V not published not published 120 V not published
Adjustable power range 100 to 2200 W not published not published not published not published
Temperature range published 140 to 480 F not published not published not published not published
Heat settings counted Knob, plus 3 presets 10 levels 10 levels Knob, count not stated 100 presets, 50 custom
Timer published 2 hours, 10 to 120 minutes 24 hours 24 hours not published not published
Child lock not published Yes Yes not published not published
Burner diameter published not published not published not published 7 in not applicable
Cooling arrangement Fan, stainless base, side slots Heat dissipation claimed Heat dissipation claimed not published Convection fan
Safety cut out Overheat protection not published not published Auto shut off on overheat not published
Surface material Crystal glass Black crystal panel Black crystal panel Crystallite ceramic glass Shatter resistant dome
Housing material Stainless steel base not published not published Stainless steel not published
Works with any cookware Yes, stated Yes, stated Yes, stated Yes, stated not applicable
Cooking capacity stated not published not published not published not published A 10 lb turkey
Warranty stated Guarantee, no period not published not published 1 year not published
Dimension fields 14.2 by 11.4 by 2.76 in 11.02 by 14.17 by 2.17 in 11.02 by 14.17 by 1.97 in 9 by 9.5 by 2.75 in 15.3 by 14.5 by 12.9 in
Published weight not published 4.63 lb not published 2.4 lb 9.4 lb
Weight repeated in the bullets not published not published not published Yes, 2.4 lbs not published

Only three of the five publish a weight, so no weight ranking is worth much here. OVENTE is the one that repeats its figure in a bullet, 2.4 pounds, which is the only case on the page of a weight appearing anywhere except a data field. PAYISHO and DRINTON publish no weight at all, and PAYISHO’s twin publishes 4.63 pounds for what is otherwise the same object.

Wattage, and What Only One Listing Tells You

From 1000 Watts to 2200

OVENTE sits at the bottom with 1000 watts at 120 volts, and it is honest about what that buys: frying, keeping food warm, boiling water. DRINTON sits at the top with 2200 watts at 110 volts. The two 1800 watt listings are in between, and since they are the same product, the real ladder on this page has three rungs rather than four.

That spread matters more on infrared than on induction, because an infrared element heats the glass and the glass heats the pan, so the wattage is what you have to work with. A 1000 watt plate boiling a large pan of water is a slower proposition than a 2200 watt one, and nothing on any of these listings publishes a boil time to compare.

The Only Listing With a Temperature Range

DRINTON publishes 140 F to 480 F, which is the only temperature range on the page, and pairs it with an adjustable power range of 100 to 2200 watts on a rotating knob. That is two scales for the same dial, which is unusual and useful: you can think in watts for boiling and in degrees for holding a sauce at temperature.

Nobody else publishes a degree. The two 1800 watt burners offer 10 adjustable levels and explain, in a bullet repeated almost verbatim in a second bullet, that older models had only 8. OVENTE offers a knob and an indicator light without counting the positions. Nuwave offers 100 presets and 50 custom memory settings and never states a temperature either.

The Two Listings That Are One Product

Identical Bullets, One Different Figure

nuopuplai and PAYISHO publish the same six bullets in the same order: strong power heating, 10 power levels, versatile compatibility, easy to clean black crystal panel, enhanced heat control and efficient heat dissipation. Both claim 1800 watts, a 24 hour timer, a child safety lock and compatibility with all cookware. Both even carry the same duplicated argument about 8 settings versus 10 in two separate bullets.

Their dimension fields are 11.02 by 14.17 inches on both, and the only published difference between them is height: 2.17 inches on nuopuplai and 1.97 on PAYISHO. nuopuplai also publishes a weight, 4.63 pounds, and puts its three dimension figures in the size field. PAYISHO publishes no weight and no size field at all.

What That Means When Choosing

Treat them as one product with two sellers. If the 0.2 inch height difference is real, PAYISHO is the slimmer of the two; if it is a data entry difference, there is nothing to choose between them except which listing publishes more, and that is nuopuplai with a weight and a size field. Neither publishes a burner diameter, a temperature or a warranty.

Both do publish the one claim that reads as a genuine design point: an ultra thin profile stated as 2 to 3 inches slimmer than other models, which their dimension fields support at 2.17 and 1.97 inches. DRINTON is 2.76 inches and OVENTE 2.75, so the twins are the flattest burners on this page by roughly the margin they claim.

The Odd One Out, and the Small One

Nuwave Is an Oven That Uses Infrared

Nuwave belongs to a different category and its specifications show it. It states triple combo cooking power, infrared with convection and conduction, a 360 degree surround heat claim, 10 functions in one including rotisserie and dehydrate, 100 presets with 50 custom memory settings, and an interior that fits a 10 pound turkey under a transparent shatter resistant dome.

What it does not state is a wattage, a voltage or a temperature range, which for an oven is a real gap. It is also the heaviest of the five at 9.4 pounds with fields of 15.3 by 14.5 by 12.9 inches, so it occupies counter space permanently rather than going in a cupboard between meals as the burners do.

OVENTE Is the Only One That Publishes a Burner Size

OVENTE states a burner diameter of 7 inches and advises using flat cookware as close to that size as possible, which is the single most practical sentence on this page. Nobody else publishes it, and on an infrared plate the match between pan base and element is what decides whether the heat reaches the food or the countertop.

It backs that with stainless steel housing, a crystallite ceramic glass top, an indicator light that shows heating, an auto shut off on overheat, and a 1 year warranty against defects, which is the only warranty period published here. At 2.4 pounds and 9 by 9.5 inches it is also the smallest burner in the pool by its own figures.

Which One Fits Your Kitchen

The cook who wants the heat quantified. DRINTON publishes 2200 watts at 110 volts, an adjustable 100 to 2200 watt range, a temperature range of 140 to 480 F, three presets, a 2 hour timer and a cooling fan that runs after switch off.

The flat that needs the burner in a drawer. nuopuplai states 1800 watts, 10 power levels, a 24 hour timer and a child lock, on a panel 2.17 inches thick and 4.63 pounds. Its bullets are identical to those of another brand here.

The same burner from the other seller. PAYISHO publishes the same bullets, the same 1800 watts and the same 11.02 by 14.17 inch footprint at 1.97 inches thick. It publishes no weight and no size field, so nuopuplai documents more.

The small kitchen that boils and warms. OVENTE states 1000 watts at 120 volts, a 7 inch burner, stainless housing, crystallite ceramic glass, an auto shut off on overheat and a 1 year warranty, at 2.4 pounds.

The cook who wants an oven instead. Nuwave is not a burner at all: infrared plus convection and conduction, 10 functions, 100 presets, 50 custom settings and room for a 10 pound turkey. It is the heaviest of the five at 9.4 pounds.

What We Could Not Verify

Everything above is from the listings. These are the things looked for there and not found.

  • Only DRINTON publishes a temperature range, so the other four give no degrees at all.
  • Nuwave publishes no wattage and no voltage, which for a countertop oven is the largest gap on this page.
  • Only OVENTE publishes a burner diameter, so pan matching is guesswork on the other three burners.
  • No listing publishes a boil time, so the wattage ladder cannot be read as speed.
  • Two listings are the same product under different brands, differing only by 0.2 inches of published height.
  • Only OVENTE states a warranty period, and no listing says whether a glass top can be replaced.

Frequently asked questions

Which of these gets hottest, on the published figures?+

DRINTON, and it is the only one that can be answered in degrees. It publishes 2200 watts at 110 volts and a temperature range of 140 F to 480 F. nuopuplai and PAYISHO both publish 1800 watts with no temperature. OVENTE publishes 1000 watts at 120 volts, also with no temperature. Nuwave, the oven, publishes neither a wattage nor a temperature, so nothing on its listing can be compared with the burners.

Are two of these really the same product?+

Yes. nuopuplai and PAYISHO publish the same six bullets in the same order, including the same duplicated argument about older models having 8 heat settings rather than 10, the same 1800 watts, the same 24 hour timer and child lock, and the same 11.02 by 14.17 inch footprint. The only published difference is height, 2.17 inches against 1.97, and nuopuplai additionally publishes a weight of 4.63 pounds.

Why does burner diameter matter?+

Because infrared heats the glass and the glass heats the pan, so a pan smaller than the element wastes heat into the air and a pan much larger heats unevenly at the rim. OVENTE is the only listing here that publishes the figure, 7 inches, and it goes further by advising flat cookware as close to the burner size as possible. The other three burners never state an element diameter at all.

What is the infrared oven doing on this page?+

It is the only pick in the pool that uses infrared to cook food directly rather than to heat a pan. Nuwave states triple combo cooking power, infrared with convection and conduction, 10 functions including rotisserie and dehydrate, 100 presets with 50 custom memory settings, and space for a 10 pound turkey. It cannot replace a burner, and no burner here can roast a turkey, so it is included as the alternative rather than as a rival.

Which is safest by the published claims?+

They split the safety features between them. The two twin burners publish a child safety lock, which nothing else here offers. OVENTE publishes an auto shut off that triggers on overheating or when the set temperature is reached, plus an indicator light. DRINTON publishes overheat protection and a cooling system with a fan, a stainless base and side slots, with the fan continuing to run after the unit is switched off. Nuwave publishes none of these.

Can I use my existing pans?+

On all four burners, yes, and each says so. DRINTON, nuopuplai, PAYISHO and OVENTE all state compatibility with any cookware, and OVENTE and DRINTON both make the point that this is where infrared differs from induction, which needs magnetic bases. OVENTE adds the practical caveat about matching the pan to the 7 inch element. Nuwave is an oven and takes no cookware in that sense at all.

Specifications come from the manufacturers' own published listings. Lush Food & Drink may earn a commission if you buy through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. How we research.