Lush Food & Drink

Buying Guide ·Measurement

Best Digital Pocket Kitchen Scales for Meal Prep

Published capacity decides which scale suits meal prep, and these five range from 11 to 33 pounds.

By the Lush Editorial Team·Researched & Compared

  • Researched & ComparedSpecs pulled from the manufacturer listing
  • Like-for-LikeSame measures across every model
  • No Paid PlacementsNobody pays to appear here

We compared the published capacity, dimensions, and features of eight digital kitchen scales from the manufacturer fact sheet.

Our shortlist

Five products, one set of published numbers.
  1. Food Scale -33lb Digital Kitchen Scale for Food Ounc...
    Highest published capacity

    Food Scale -33lb Digital Kitchen Scale for Food Ounc...

    Publishes 33 pounds capacity and a 7.5 by 5.5 inch platform.

    • GGQ
    • Medium
    • 0.55 lb
  2. Nicewell Food Scale 22lb Digital Kitchen Scale for C...
    Best for large batches

    Nicewell Food Scale 22lb Digital Kitchen Scale for C...

    Publishes 22 pounds capacity and a 9 by 6.3 inch platform.

    • Nicewell
    • 9 inches
    • 1.33 lb
  3. Greater Goods Digital Food Scale for Kitchen & Bakin...
    Best for bulk cooking

    Greater Goods Digital Food Scale for Kitchen & Bakin...

    Publishes 22 pounds capacity and a hold function for readings.

    • Greater Goods
    • 7.68 x 5.63 x 1.38 inches
    • 0.81 lb
  4. Amazon Basics Digital Kitchen Scale with LCD Display
    Best for basic meal prep

    Amazon Basics Digital Kitchen Scale with LCD Display

    Publishes 11 pounds capacity and a tare button.

    • Amazon Basics
    • Weighs up to 11 pounds
    • 0.84 lb
  5. Etekcity Food Kitchen Scale
    Lightest published weight

    Etekcity Food Kitchen Scale

    Publishes 0.44 pounds weight and 11 pounds capacity.

    • Etekcity
    • Medium Size
    • 0.44 lb

Side by side

Blank means the maker does not publish it.
ModelBrandSize (capacity)WeightBest for
Food Scale -33lb Digital Kitchen Scale for Food Ounc... GGQ Medium 0.55 lb Highest published capacity
Nicewell Food Scale 22lb Digital Kitchen Scale for C... Nicewell 9 inches 1.33 lb Best for large batches
Greater Goods Digital Food Scale for Kitchen & Bakin... Greater Goods 7.68 x 5.63 x 1.38 inches 0.81 lb Best for bulk cooking
Amazon Basics Digital Kitchen Scale with LCD Display Amazon Basics Weighs up to 11 pounds 0.84 lb Best for basic meal prep
Etekcity Food Kitchen Scale Etekcity Medium Size 0.44 lb Lightest published weight

Each pick in detail

What the listing says for it, and against it.
1 Highest published capacity

Food Scale -33lb Digital Kitchen Scale for Food Ounc...

Publishes 33 pounds capacity and a 7.5 by 5.5 inch platform.

  • For it
  • Publishes 33 pounds capacity, the highest among these five.
  • Includes a waterproof anti-collision glass weighing panel.
  • Has a 7.5 by 5.5 inch stainless steel platform.
  • Offers 5 measurement units and a tare button.
  • Against it
  • The manufacturer does not publish the weight.
  • No published battery type; states rechargeable.
2 Best for large batches

Nicewell Food Scale 22lb Digital Kitchen Scale for C...

Publishes 22 pounds capacity and a 9 by 6.3 inch platform.

  • For it
  • Publishes 22 pounds capacity and 1 gram increments.
  • Has a 9 by 6.3 inch platform, the largest here.
  • Includes a hook for storage.
  • Comes with 2 AAA batteries.
  • Against it
  • Weighs 1.33 pounds, the heaviest among these five.
  • No published waterproof rating.
3 Best for bulk cooking

Greater Goods Digital Food Scale for Kitchen & Bakin...

Publishes 22 pounds capacity and a hold function for readings.

  • For it
  • Publishes 22 pounds capacity and 1 gram precision.
  • Has a hold function to keep readings on screen for up to 5 minutes.
  • Includes a bright Hi-Def LCD display.
  • Runs on 3 AAA batteries (included).
  • Against it
  • Weighs 0.81 pounds, heavier than some.
  • No published waterproof rating.
4 Best for basic meal prep

Amazon Basics Digital Kitchen Scale with LCD Display

Publishes 11 pounds capacity and a tare button.

  • For it
  • Publishes 11 pounds capacity and 2 grams minimum.
  • Includes a tare button and wide LCD screen.
  • Comes with 2 AAA batteries.
  • Has a stainless steel platform.
  • Against it
  • Weighs 0.84 pounds, heavier than the Etekcity.
  • No published waterproof rating.
5 Lightest published weight

Etekcity Food Kitchen Scale

Publishes 0.44 pounds weight and 11 pounds capacity.

  • For it
  • Publishes 0.44 pounds weight, the lightest among these five.
  • Supports 5 units and a tare function.
  • Includes 2 AAA batteries.
  • Has a backlit LCD screen with large fonts.
  • Against it
  • Publishes 11 pounds capacity, lower than the GGQ and Nicewell.
  • No published waterproof rating.

Our verdict

Meal prep means weighing multiple portions in one session, so capacity and tare matter more than a slim profile. The GGQ Food Scale publishes the highest capacity here at 33 pounds, with a 7.5 by 5.5 inch platform. The Nicewell and Greater Goods scales each publish 22 pounds. The Amazon Basics, Ultrean, and Etekcity models publish 11 pounds. All five include a tare function for subtracting container weight. For large batches, the GGQ or Nicewell give more headroom. For small portions, the Etekcity is the lightest at 0.44 pounds.

“Capacity and tare decide meal prep scales.”

Lush Editorial Team

What separates these five

Capacity The GGQ publishes 33 pounds, the Nicewell and Greater Goods publish 22 pounds, and the Amazon Basics, Ultrean, and Etekcity publish 11 pounds.
Tare Function All five scales include a tare function to subtract the weight of containers, which is useful for meal prep.
Platform Size The Nicewell has a 9 by 6.3 inch platform, the GGQ has a 7.5 by 5.5 inch panel, and the Etekcity has a 6.18 by 7.56 inch platform.
Battery and Power The GGQ is rechargeable, the Etekcity B09HM2TN5Z is USB-C rechargeable, and the others use AAA batteries.
Units The GGQ and Etekcity B0113UZJE2 support 5 units, the Ultrean supports 6 units including milk milliliters.

How we chose

Priorities, not a computed score. The inputs are published specifications, so we rank by what matters most and say how much.

  1. 30% Published CapacityDirectly determines how much food can be weighed at once, which is critical for meal prep.
  2. 25% Tare FunctionAllows subtracting container weight, a key feature for accurate portioning.
  3. 20% Platform SizeLarger platforms hold bigger bowls and containers, reducing spills.
  4. 15% Power SourceRechargeable scales avoid battery changes, but battery models are common.
  5. 10% Measurement UnitsMore units can be helpful, but most meal prep uses grams or ounces.

How the Five Compare on the Numbers

Meal prep involves weighing multiple portions, often in large batches, so published capacity and tare function are the deciding specifications. Among the five picks, the GGQ Food Scale publishes the highest capacity at 33 pounds, followed by the Nicewell and Greater Goods at 22 pounds each. The Amazon Basics, Ultrean, and Etekcity B0113UZJE2 each publish 11 pounds. All five include a tare function, which lets you subtract the weight of a container. Platform sizes vary: the Nicewell has a 9 by 6.3 inch platform, the GGQ has a 7.5 by 5.5 inch panel, and the Etekcity B0113UZJE2 has a 6.18 by 7.56 inch platform.

Power sources differ. The GGQ is rechargeable, the Etekcity B09HM2TN5Z is USB-C rechargeable, and the others use AAA batteries. The Etekcity B0113UZJE2 is the lightest at 0.44 pounds, while the Nicewell is the heaviest at 1.33 pounds. The GGQ and Etekcity B0113UZJE2 support 5 units, the Ultrean supports 6 units including milk milliliters, and the Amazon Basics supports 5 units. The Greater Goods includes a hold function that keeps readings on screen for up to 5 minutes.

Specification Amazon Basics B06X9NQ8GX Ultrean B08CZDYNF7 Etekcity B0113UZJE2 GGQ B0BYN6Q8L7 Nicewell B07S6F6LHQ
Published Capacity 11 pounds 11 pounds 11 pounds 33 pounds 22 pounds
Width (inches) 7.0 5.5 6.18 5.0 6.2
Depth (inches) 8.25 7.1 7.56 8.0 9.0
Height (inches) 1.25 0.6 0.75 0.7 0.8
Weight (pounds) 0.84 not published 0.44 0.55 1.33
Tare Function Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Units 5 6 5 5 5
Battery Type 2 AAA 2 AAA 2 AAA Rechargeable 2 AAA

The table does not tell you how accurate each scale is in practice, how easy the buttons are to press, or how readable the display is under different lighting. It also does not include the OXO or Greater Goods scales, which are not among the five picks. The published figures are a starting point, but they do not capture the full user experience.

Capacity and Platform Size for Meal Prep

Why Capacity Matters

When you are portioning meals for the week, you may weigh several pounds of ingredients at once. A scale with a higher published capacity can handle larger bowls without maxing out. The GGQ publishes 33 pounds, which is the highest among these five. The Nicewell and Greater Goods publish 22 pounds, still ample for most meal prep. The Amazon Basics, Ultrean, and Etekcity publish 11 pounds, which may be enough for smaller batches but could require splitting larger ones.

Capacity also affects the minimum weight a scale can measure. The Amazon Basics publishes a 2 gram minimum, while the GGQ publishes a 3 gram minimum. The Etekcity B0113UZJE2 publishes 1 gram increments. For meal prep, you may weigh small amounts of spices or leavening, so a lower minimum can be useful. However, all these scales are designed for kitchen use, not laboratory measurements.

Platform Size and Container Fit

A larger platform accommodates bigger bowls and containers, reducing the chance of spills. The Nicewell has a 9 by 6.3 inch platform, the largest among these five. The GGQ has a 7.5 by 5.5 inch stainless steel panel. The Etekcity B0113UZJE2 has a 6.18 by 7.56 inch platform. The Amazon Basics has a 7 by 8.25 inch platform. The Ultrean has a 5.5 by 7.1 inch platform, the smallest here. If you often use large mixing bowls, a bigger platform is helpful.

Platform material also varies. The Amazon Basics, Ultrean, Etekcity, GGQ, and Nicewell all mention stainless steel surfaces. The GGQ specifies a waterproof anti-collision glass weighing panel. The Nicewell mentions tempered glass. These materials are easy to wipe clean, which is important when switching between ingredients.

Tare, Units, and Power for Efficient Meal Prep

Tare Function and Zeroing

All five picks include a tare function, which lets you place a container on the scale, press tare to zero it out, and then add food to get just the food’s weight. This is essential for meal prep because you can use the same bowl for multiple ingredients without emptying it. The Amazon Basics, Ultrean, Etekcity, GGQ, and Nicewell all list tare among their published features. The Greater Goods calls it a ZERO function, but it performs the same task.

Some scales also have a hold function. The Greater Goods includes a HOLD feature that keeps readings on screen for up to 5 minutes, which can be useful if the display is obscured by a large bowl. The Etekcity B09HM2TN5Z also mentions a hold function. The other picks do not publish this feature.

Units and Power Sources

The number of measurement units varies. The Ultrean supports 6 units: grams, kilograms, pounds, ounces, milliliters, and milk milliliters. The Amazon Basics, Etekcity B0113UZJE2, GGQ, and Nicewell each support 5 units. For meal prep, grams and ounces are most common, but milliliters can be handy for liquids. The GGQ and Etekcity B0113UZJE2 include fluid ounces, while the Nicewell includes fluid ounces and milliliters.

Power sources differ. The GGQ is rechargeable, which means you do not need to replace batteries. The Etekcity B09HM2TN5Z is USB-C rechargeable and includes a charging cable. The Amazon Basics, Ultrean, Etekcity B0113UZJE2, and Nicewell use AAA batteries, and all include batteries except the Ultrean, which states batteries are included but requires removing plastic wrapping before first use. The Greater Goods uses 3 AAA batteries, also included.

Which One Fits Your Kitchen

Large-batch meal preppers. If you regularly weigh more than 11 pounds at once, the GGQ Food Scale publishes 33 pounds capacity, the highest here. Its 7.5 by 5.5 inch platform and rechargeable battery suit frequent use.

Bakers and bulk cooks. The Nicewell Food Scale publishes 22 pounds capacity and a 9 by 6.3 inch platform, the largest here. It includes a hook for storage and comes with batteries.

Everyday meal preppers. The Greater Goods scale publishes 22 pounds capacity and a hold function that keeps readings visible for up to 5 minutes. It runs on 3 AAA batteries and has a compact footprint.

Budget-conscious users. The Amazon Basics scale publishes 11 pounds capacity and includes a tare button. It comes with batteries and has a stainless steel platform.

Small-space kitchens. The Etekcity B0113UZJE2 publishes a weight of 0.44 pounds, the lightest among these five. It supports 5 units and includes batteries, making it easy to store.

What We Could Not Verify

The manufacturer does not publish every figure for every scale. Here are the gaps we found.

  • The Ultrean scale does not publish its weight.
  • The GGQ scale does not publish its weight.
  • The Etekcity B09HM2TN5Z does not publish a depth measurement.
  • The OXO scale does not publish a capacity figure.
  • The Greater Goods scale does not publish a waterproof rating.
  • The Nicewell scale does not publish a waterproof rating.

Frequently asked questions

What capacity do I need for meal prep?+

For meal prep, a capacity of at least 11 pounds is common, but larger batches may require 22 pounds or more. The GGQ publishes 33 pounds, the Nicewell and Greater Goods publish 22 pounds, and the Amazon Basics, Ultrean, and Etekcity publish 11 pounds. Consider the total weight of ingredients you typically portion at once.

Do these scales have a tare function?+

Yes, all five picks include a tare function. This lets you place a container on the scale, reset to zero, and then add food to get just the food's weight. The Amazon Basics, Ultrean, Etekcity, GGQ, and Nicewell all list tare among their published features.

Which scale is easiest to store?+

The Etekcity B0113UZJE2 publishes a weight of 0.44 pounds and dimensions of 6.18 by 7.56 by 0.75 inches, making it the lightest and one of the slimmest here. The Ultrean is 0.6 inches tall but its weight is not published. The GGQ has a hanging hook for storage.

Are any of these scales waterproof?+

Only the Etekcity B09HM2TN5Z publishes an IPX6 waterproof rating, which allows it to be wiped clean and handle liquids. The GGQ mentions a waterproof glass panel but does not specify a rating. The other scales do not publish waterproof ratings.

What units do these scales measure in?+

The Amazon Basics displays pounds, ounces, grams, fluid ounces, and milliliters. The Ultrean supports grams, kilograms, pounds, ounces, milliliters, and milk milliliters. The Etekcity B0113UZJE2 supports ounces, pounds:ounces, fluid ounces, grams, and milliliters. The GGQ supports grams, kilograms, pounds:ounces, ounces, and milliliters. The Nicewell supports grams, kilograms, pounds:ounces, fluid ounces, and milliliters.

Do these scales come with batteries?+

The Amazon Basics, Ultrean, Etekcity B0113UZJE2, and Nicewell include AAA batteries. The Greater Goods includes 3 AAA batteries. The GGQ is rechargeable and does not specify battery type. The Etekcity B09HM2TN5Z is USB-C rechargeable and includes a charging cable.

Specifications come from the manufacturers' own published listings. Lush Food & Drink may earn a commission if you buy through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. How we research.