
Prep•N•Cook by McSunley 21.5Qt Induction Stainless S...
The only pick published as induction compatible, with a flat encapsulated base.
- 21.5 Qt
- 11.11 lb
The deciding specification is cooktop compatibility, since three of these five are limited to gas and electric.
By the Lush Editorial Team·Researched & Compared
Compared five water bath canners and canning racks using manufacturer published dimensions, weights, capacities and feature lists.

The only pick published as induction compatible, with a flat encapsulated base.

A reversible rack flips for steam canning, plus a lid thermometer.

Ships with seven canning tools and 50 labels alongside the 21.5 quart pot.

Ten piece kit with measuring cups and stickers, maker lists food grade materials.

Two 21.5 quart porcelain steel pots, each holding 7 quart jars.
| Model | Brand | Size (Capacity) | Weight | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prep•N•Cook by McSunley 21.5Qt Induction Stainless S... | McSunley | 21.5 Qt | 11.11 lb | Best for induction cooktops |
| Harvest Stainless Steel 20 Qt Canning Pot with Rack ... | KITCHEN CROP | 20 Quarts | 10.1 lb | Best for water bath or steam canning |
| Canning Pot | Kendane | 21.5 Quarts | 10.8 lb | Best full starter kit |
| Canning Pot with Rack & Lid-Canning Kit for Beginner... | JY COOKMENT | 21.5 Quarts | 8.5 lb | Best for first time canners |
| CLMSTE 2Pack 21.5 Quart Water Bath Canner with Can R... | CLMSTE | Large | 3.96 lb | Best two pot set |

The only pick published as induction compatible, with a flat encapsulated base.

A reversible rack flips for steam canning, plus a lid thermometer.

Ships with seven canning tools and 50 labels alongside the 21.5 quart pot.

Ten piece kit with measuring cups and stickers, maker lists food grade materials.

Two 21.5 quart porcelain steel pots, each holding 7 quart jars.
The McSunley Prep N Cook is the only pick published as induction compatible with a flat encapsulated base, and it holds 7 quart jars on its easy lift rack. The KITCHEN CROP Harvest adds a reversible rack for steam canning and a lid thermometer. The Kendane arrives as a full starter kit with seven tools. The JY COOKMENT kit adds measuring cups and labels. The CLMSTE two pack gives you two 21.5 quart pots. The EOJDDPA is a rack only, not a pot.
“Capability, not performance: what the maker states.”
Lush Food & Drink
Two picks state induction compatibility. The McSunley Prep N Cook is published as induction compatible with a flat encapsulated base, and the KITCHEN CROP Harvest is published as induction range compatible and safe for smooth top ranges. The Kendane states it is not suitable for induction or glass cooktop hubs, and the CLMSTE is not recommended for glass cooktops. The JY COOKMENT does not state cooktop compatibility at all.
The McSunley, Kendane, CLMSTE and JY COOKMENT racks are each published as holding 7 quart jars, 9 pint jars or 12 half pint jars. The KITCHEN CROP is published as holding 8 pint or 7 quart jars. The EOJDDPA rack is a different product, a standalone rack published to hold 4 jars of 16 fluid ounces, and it is not a pot.
The CLMSTE two pack is the lightest at 3.96 pounds for the set. The JY COOKMENT is 8.5 pounds, the KITCHEN CROP is 10.1 pounds, the Kendane is 10.8 pounds and the McSunley is the heaviest at 11.11 pounds. That is a spread of 7.15 pounds between the lightest and heaviest picks, though the CLMSTE figure covers two pots.
Two do. The Kendane kit includes a canning scoop, magnetic lid lifter, jar lifter, canning funnel, jar wrench, canning tongs and 50 labels. The JY COOKMENT kit includes a funnel, tongs, jar lifter, magnetic lid lifter, wrench, spoon, measuring cups and stickers. The McSunley, KITCHEN CROP and CLMSTE picks list only the pot, rack and lid.
The McSunley is published as doubling as a large stock pot for soups, stews, or boiling lobsters and corn on the cob. The IMUSA 6 quart enamel pot, which is not one of these five picks, is published for soups, stews, sauces, pasta, tamales, lobster and mussels. The other four picks list canning and preserving uses only.
The maker states the indicator sits within the knob of the tempered glass lid and that you start timing your canning job when the needle reaches the appropriate mark. No calibration figure, tolerance or temperature range is published for it. It is a stated feature of that one pick, and none of the other four canners on this list includes a lid indicator of any kind.
Specifications come from the manufacturers' own published listings. Lush Food & Drink may earn a commission if you buy through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. How we research.
Four of these five picks are published at 21.5 quarts, and the KITCHEN CROP Harvest is the exception at 20 quarts, a difference of 1.5 quarts. Weight separates them far more sharply. The CLMSTE two pack is published at 3.96 pounds for the set, the JY COOKMENT at 8.5 pounds, the KITCHEN CROP at 10.1 pounds, the Kendane at 10.8 pounds and the McSunley at 11.11 pounds. That is a spread of 7.15 pounds between the lightest and heaviest picks, though the CLMSTE figure covers two pots rather than one.
Cooktop statements are the other dividing line. The McSunley and the KITCHEN CROP are both published as induction compatible. The Kendane states it is not suitable for induction or glass cooktop hubs, and the CLMSTE is not recommended for glass cooktops. The JY COOKMENT does not state cooktop compatibility in its published features at all, so a buyer with an induction range has no confirmation from the maker that it will work.
| Specification | McSunley B091DBC32X | KITCHEN CROP B0075O2Z34 | Kendane B0DP8XQW29 | JY COOKMENT B0DPGGFTRH | CLMSTE B0H4Y4PM61 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published capacity | 21.5 Qt | 20 Quarts | 21.5 Quarts | 21.5 Quarts | Large, two pots |
| Published weight | 11.11 lb | 10.1 lb | 10.8 lb | 8.5 lb | 3.96 lb |
| Width | 14.2 in | 17.5 in | 15.0 in | 16.5 in | 15.1 in |
| Depth | 14.2 in | 13.1 in | 15.0 in | 16.5 in | 22.1 in |
| Height | 11.2 in | 11.5 in | 9.8 in | 12.4 in | 10.1 in |
| Induction stated | Yes | Yes | No | not published | not published |
| Glass cooktop stated | Yes | Yes | No | not published | Not recommended |
| Rack jar count | 7 qt, 9 pt, 12 half pt | 8 pt or 7 qt | 7 qt, 9 pt, 12 half pt | not published | 7 qt, 9 pt, 12 half pt |
| Tools included | Rack and lid | Rack and lid | Seven tools and labels | Ten piece kit | Rack and lid |
| Stated material | Stainless steel | Stainless steel | Porcelain enamel | Enameled steel | Porcelain over steel |
The table does not tell you how any of these pots performs. Nobody here has boiled water in them, and no maker publishes heat up times, recovery times or temperature uniformity figures. The rack jar counts are the maker’s own claims about fit, not a measurement of whether a particular brand of jar sits level. Cooktop compatibility is a statement of intent from the manufacturer, and the only way to confirm it is to check your range’s documentation against the pot’s stated base construction.
The McSunley is the clearest case. Its published features state the stainless steel pot and flat encapsulated base are specifically designed for use with all cooktops, including induction and glass top ranges. The KITCHEN CROP makes a similar claim, stating it is induction range compatible and safe for smooth top ranges with a flat clad bottom. Those are the only two picks on this list where the maker states induction support.
The Kendane goes the other way. Its published features state plainly that the water bath canner is not suitable for induction and glass cooktop hubs. The CLMSTE is not recommended for use on glass cooktops, and it does not state induction compatibility either way. The JY COOKMENT lists no cooktop compatibility statement at all, so if you have an induction range, that pick gives you nothing to check against.
Base construction is the reason for the split. The McSunley describes a flat encapsulated base, which is the layered disc construction that induction requires. The KITCHEN CROP describes a flat clad bottom for even heating on any cooktop. The Kendane uses a porcelain enamel surface, and the CLMSTE uses porcelain over a steel core. Porcelain enamel pots are commonly limited to gas and electric, which matches what both makers state.
If you are buying for a gas or electric range, all five picks are viable on the published statements, with the CLMSTE carrying a glass cooktop warning. If you have induction, the field narrows to two. That single line in a feature list matters more than any dimension on this page, because a pot that will not heat is not a canner regardless of how many jars its rack holds.
The Kendane is published as an all in one canning supplies starter kit containing a canning scoop, magnetic lid lifter, jar lifter, canning funnel, jar wrench, canning tongs and 50 labels, alongside the 21.5 quart pot, rack and lid. The JY COOKMENT kit is larger on paper, listing a funnel, tongs, jar lifter, magnetic lid lifter, wrench, spoon, measuring cups and a set of canning stickers. Both are aimed at a first time canner who does not want to buy tools separately.
One detail worth noting from the published features: the JY COOKMENT states its magnetic lid lifter is not dishwasher safe, while the pot and other tools are described as washable by hand or in a dishwasher. The Kendane states the pot is dishwasher safe and specifies that this applies to the canning pot only. Neither kit publishes a material list for the individual tools beyond general food grade claims.
The McSunley, KITCHEN CROP and CLMSTE picks list only the pot, rack and lid. The McSunley rack is described as resting on the sides of the pot so jars can be loaded and lowered, keeping them off the bottom for full water circulation, and it holds 7 quart, 9 pint or 12 half pint jars. The KITCHEN CROP rack is double sided and can be flipped for steam canning, and that pot also carries a built in temperature indicator in the lid knob.
The CLMSTE is the only two pot option here, published as a 2 pack of 21.5 quart porcelain steel canners, each holding 7 quart jars, 9 pint jars or 12 half pint jars, with an instruction guide included. If you already own a jar lifter and funnel, one of these three is the more direct purchase. If you do not, the kit picks cover the gap in one order.
Induction range owner. The McSunley is the pick, published as induction compatible with an encapsulated base and stated safe for glass top ranges. It is the heaviest at 11.11 pounds, so plan where it will live.
Steam canning curious. The KITCHEN CROP Harvest has a reversible rack that flips for steam canning and a lid thermometer, and it is published as induction compatible. Its capacity is 20 quarts, 1.5 quarts less than the 21.5 quart picks.
First time canner with a gas range. The Kendane kit covers pot, rack, lid and seven tools in one purchase. It is published as unsuitable for induction and glass cooktops, so confirm your range first.
Buyer who wants the most tools. The JY COOKMENT ten piece kit adds measuring cups and stickers to the standard tool set. The maker does not state cooktop compatibility, so check your range before ordering.
Preserver who wants two pots. The CLMSTE two pack gives you two 21.5 quart canners, each holding 7 quart jars, at 3.96 pounds for the set. It is not recommended for glass cooktops.
Several figures a buyer would want are simply not published by the makers, and we did not estimate them.