Lush Food & Drink
TOSHIBA Countertop Microwave Oven, 1.2 Cu.Ft, 1000W, Black

Two Sizes
On One Listing

Check Price on Amazon Opens amazon.com. We never print prices – they move too often to keep honest.

Toshiba 1.2 Cu Ft Countertop Microwave Review

A 1000-watt countertop microwave with a 1.2 cubic foot capacity and a 12.4-inch glass turntable.

By Lush Editorial Team ·Researched & Compared

Quick Verdict

Suits kitchens with room for a 20.5-inch-deep countertop and households that want sensor cooking and six presets. Does not suit anyone needing a low-profile unit, a non-black finish, or published interior dimensions. The listing gives two different external size sets, so measure before buying.

  • 1.2 Cu.Ft.capacity
  • 1000 Woutput power
  • 31.1 lbweight
  • 17.1 x 20.5 x 12.8 indimensions

Pros

  • 1000 watts of microwave output power from a 1600-watt input
  • 1.2 cubic foot stated capacity with a 12.4-inch glass turntable
  • Smart Sensor Technology adjusts time and power by food humidity
  • 6 preset menus including pizza, vegetable, and sensor reheat
  • 10 power levels with clock and kitchen timer
  • Defrost by weight or by time and one-touch start from 1 to 6 minutes

Cons

  • The listing gives two different external dimension sets: 20.6 x 14.6 x 11.8 inches and 20.5 x 17.1 x 12.8 inches
  • No interior dimensions are published
  • No turntable diameter is given in the structured fields, only in the bullet text
  • No wattage for defrost or preset modes is published
  • No annual energy use or standby power is published

What the Listing Includes

The listing describes a Toshiba countertop microwave oven with a 1.2 cubic foot capacity in black stainless steel. The published features include a 12.4-inch glass turntable, Smart Sensor Technology, six preset menus, ten power levels, a clock, a kitchen timer, defrost by weight or time, and one-touch start from one to six minutes at full power. The model number is B071WCB1T6.

The listing states a microwave output power of 1000 watts and an input power of 1600 watts. The structured fields give a weight of 31.1 pounds. The color is listed as black stainless steel, and the size is given as 1.2 cubic feet in black. These are the figures a reader can check before buying.

No other items are listed in the fact sheet. There is no mention of a grill element, a convection mode, a child lock, or an included accessory beyond the turntable. What you see in the published features is what the listing covers.

The Specification That Defines This Microwave

The defining figure is the 1000-watt output. That is the power available for cooking, and it sits at the higher end for countertop microwaves. The 1600-watt input is the draw from the wall, which is higher than the output because some energy is lost in conversion. On paper, this means the unit needs a circuit that can handle 1600 watts.

The 1.2 cubic foot capacity is the second defining number. It sets the physical size of the oven and, along with the 12.4-inch turntable, suggests a mid-to-large countertop footprint. The listing does not publish interior dimensions, so the capacity figure is the main guide to usable space.

Smart Sensor Technology is the third defining feature. The listing states it adjusts cooking time and power based on food humidity. That is a published behavior, not a measured result. The six preset menus and ten power levels build on that sensor system for everyday tasks.

What the Published Numbers Mean in a Kitchen

A 1000-watt output means full-power cooking is faster than a 700-watt or 800-watt unit. The listing states one-touch start runs from one to six minutes at full power, so short tasks like heating a mug of water or a plate of leftovers fall inside that range. The ten power levels let you step down from full power, though the wattage at each level is not published.

The 12.4-inch turntable is wider than many countertop models. On paper, that means it can accept larger plates and platters. The 1.2 cubic foot capacity supports that, but without interior dimensions you cannot confirm the height clearance for tall containers. The 31.1-pound weight is a fixed figure to consider if you plan to move the unit often.

The 1600-watt input is the number to check against your kitchen circuit. It is a published figure, and it is higher than the 1000-watt output. The listing does not state the amperage or the required breaker size, so a reader should treat 1600 watts as the electrical load to plan around.

Where the Listing Contradicts Itself

The listing gives two different external dimension sets. One bullet states 20.6 x 14.6 x 11.8 inches (WxDxH). The structured fields state 20.5 x 17.1 x 12.8 inches. The width differs by 0.1 inch, the depth by 2.5 inches, and the height by 1.0 inch. That is a plain contradiction, and it matters for counter depth and cabinet clearance.

The turntable diameter appears only in the bullet text, not in the structured fields. The structured fields do not list a turntable size at all. So the 12.4-inch figure is published, but it is not repeated in the specification table. A reader comparing the two sections will see the gap.

No other contradictions appear in the fact sheet. The capacity, color, output power, and input power are stated once each. The dimension conflict is the one place where the listing disagrees with itself, and it is the kind of thing a specification sheet review should flag rather than smooth over.

What the Listing Omits

The listing does not publish interior dimensions. It gives a 1.2 cubic foot capacity and a 12.4-inch turntable, but no interior width, depth, or height. Without those, you cannot confirm whether a specific casserole dish or tall container will fit. The external dimensions do not answer that question.

The listing does not publish the wattage at each of the ten power levels. It states 1000 watts output and 1600 watts input, but the lower settings are not rated. The defrost mode is described by weight or time, but no defrost wattage or weight range is given. The six preset menus are named only in part: pizza, vegetable, and sensor reheat are listed, and the rest are not.

No annual energy use, standby power, or amperage is published. No child lock, no interior light specification, and no door swing direction are given. The listing also does not state the cord length or the plug type. These are missing specifications, and they are legitimate gaps for a buyer to note.

Who Should Buy It and Who Should Not

This microwave suits a kitchen with enough counter depth for a unit in the 20.5 to 20.6 inch range and enough height for 11.8 to 12.8 inches. It suits households that want sensor cooking, six presets, and ten power levels. It also suits anyone who wants a 12.4-inch turntable for wider plates, based on the published figure.

It does not suit a kitchen with limited counter space or a cabinet opening that cannot accept the larger of the two published dimension sets. It does not suit anyone who needs a non-black finish, since the only color listed is black stainless steel. It does not suit a buyer who needs published interior dimensions before ordering.

It also does not suit a household with a circuit that cannot support a 1600-watt input. The listing gives that figure, and it is the load to check. If you need a low-profile or lightweight unit, the 31.1-pound weight and the published external sizes are the numbers to weigh against your space.

What We Could Not Verify

  • Interior dimensions are not published, so usable width, depth, and height are unknown.
  • The wattage at each of the ten power levels is not published.
  • Defrost wattage and the weight range for defrost by weight are not published.
  • The full list of six preset menus is not given; only pizza, vegetable, and sensor reheat are named.
  • Annual energy use, standby power, and amperage are not published.
  • The correct external dimension set is not resolved; the listing gives two conflicting sets.
  • Turntable diameter appears only in the bullet text, not in the structured fields.
  • Cord length, plug type, and door swing direction are not published.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does it have a turntable?

Yes. The listing states a 12.4-inch glass turntable is included. That diameter is larger than many countertop models, so it can hold wider plates. The turntable diameter appears only in the bullet text, not in the structured specification fields, so confirm it on the product page if turntable size is critical for your dishes.

What preset menus does it have?

The listing states six preset menus for popular foods including pizza, vegetable, and sensor reheat. The remaining presets are not named in the fact sheet. The sensor reheat preset uses Smart Sensor Technology, which adjusts cooking time and power based on food humidity. No preset wattage or time ranges are published.

What is the weight of the unit?

The structured specification field lists 31.1 pounds. That is the shipping or unit weight as published. No separate net weight is given. If you need to lift or move the microwave often, 31.1 pounds is a fixed figure to plan around. The listing does not break this down further.

What are the external dimensions?

The listing gives two different sets. One bullet says 20.6 x 14.6 x 11.8 inches (WxDxH). The structured fields say 20.5 x 17.1 x 12.8 inches. The depth and height disagree by 2.5 inches and 1.0 inch. Measure your counter space against both sets before ordering.

How many power levels does it have?

The listing states 10 unique power levels. It also includes a clock and kitchen timer. The top output is 1000 watts. Lower levels are not individually rated in the fact sheet, so the wattage at each of the 10 settings is not published. The listing mentions deodorization and boiling liquids as use cases.

Can you defrost by weight or time?

Yes. The listing states easy defrost by weight or by time. One-touch start runs from 1 to 6 minutes at full power. No defrost wattage or weight range is published. The 1000-watt output is the only power figure given, and it applies to full-power cooking, not necessarily to defrost cycles.

Is the interior size published?

No. The listing gives a 1.2 cubic foot capacity and a 12.4-inch turntable, but no interior width, depth, or height. Without those figures, you cannot confirm whether a specific baking dish or casserole will fit. The external dimensions are published, but they do not tell you the usable space inside.

Lush Food & Drink is reader-supported. This review is built from published manufacturer specifications. It is not paid placement, and it is not hands-on testing.