Explainer
Which electric pressure cookers available on the market reach 15 PSI?
None of the electric models in this site's pressure cooker guide publishes a 15 PSI working pressure, and the two picks that do publish pressure figures are stovetop canners, not electric cookers.
By the Lush Editorial Team·Researched & Compared
None of the electric pressure cookers in this site’s guide publishes a 15 PSI working pressure. The only picks whose makers publish pressure figures at all are the Presto 01781 and the T-fal 22-Quart canner, and both are stovetop canners rather than electric cookers.
That answer comes from the fact sheet behind Best Pressure Cookers for Canning and Fast Meals, which compares five products. Three of them are electric: the Instant Pot Duo 6 Qt, the Midea 12-in-1 8 Quarts and the Cosori 6QT. For those three, the makers’ published feature lists describe cooking functions, safety systems and wattage but say nothing about the pressure the vessel reaches. A number that is not published cannot be confirmed, so this page reports what the makers state and where the record goes quiet.
What 15 PSI means for a pressure cooker
Pressure canning recipes are written around a gauge pressure, and 15 PSI is the figure many home canning guides use for low-acid foods at higher altitudes. A cooker that reaches that pressure boils water hotter than one that runs lower, which is why the number matters to anyone canning vegetables, meats or seafood rather than simply cooking dinner faster.
The distinction between a pressure cooker and a pressure canner is central here. The Presto 01781 is described by its maker as the only method recommended safe by the US Department of Agriculture for canning vegetables, meats, poultry and seafood, and it carries a deluxe pressure dial gauge that registers the complete range of processing pressures. That gauge is a published feature. The specific PSI it reaches is not stated in the fact sheet, so this page does not put a number on it.
Electric multi-cookers are marketed for speed and convenience, not for canning. The Instant Pot Duo, for example, is described as cooking up to 70% faster compared to slow cooking methods. That is a claim about time, not about pressure, and it tells a reader nothing about whether the vessel reaches 15 PSI.
The electric picks and their published figures
The Instant Pot Duo 6 Qt is a 6-quart cooker rated at 1000 watts, 120 V 60 Hz, and listed to UL and ULC. Its published features cover seven cooking functions, 13 one-touch programs, an Easy-Release steam switch, an 18/8 stainless steel inner pot with a tri-ply bottom, and over 10 safety mechanisms including overheat protection and an easy seal safety lid lock. Its published dimensions are 12.6 inches wide, 13.0 inches deep and 12.2 inches high, at 14.6 pounds. No pressure rating appears anywhere in that list.
The Midea 12-in-1 is an 8-quart electric cooker with a stainless steel inner pot and a REALSAFE SYSTEM that the maker describes as 12-in-1 safety protection covering pressure limit, over temperature and overpressure automatic release. Its published dimensions are 11.6 inches wide, 11.1 inches deep and 11.6 inches high. The maker does not publish a weight. The phrase pressure limit refers to a safety cutoff, not to a stated working pressure, so it does not answer the 15 PSI question.
The Cosori 6QT is a 6-quart electric cooker with a ceramic coating inner pot, a fingerprint-resistant stainless steel housing, a 0.5-inch widened pot gap and 12 safety features including a double-layer anti-scalding lid and overheat protection. It weighs 11.9 pounds. The maker does not publish width, depth or height, and it does not publish a pressure figure. Its feature list runs through 13 cooking modes, from pressure cook and steam to sous vide and ferment, without naming a PSI.
The two canners that do publish pressure features
The Presto 01781 is a 23-quart aluminum pressure canner and cooker, 17.5 inches wide, 13.5 inches deep and 15.5 inches high, at 12 pounds. Its maker states a Mason jar capacity of 26 half-pints, 20 pints or 7 quarts. The deluxe pressure dial gauge is the feature that speaks to processing pressure, and the maker notes that precise measurement is especially important at higher altitudes. The gauge registers the range of processing pressures, but the fact sheet does not give a single PSI figure for the vessel.
The T-fal 22-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner is the one pick whose title states pressure settings: 3 PSI settings. That is the maker’s own wording in the product name, and it is the only published pressure figure across the five picks. The canner holds up to 24 half-pint jars, 16 wide-mouth pint jars, 18 pint jars or 7 quart jars per batch, measures 15.39 inches wide, 19.33 inches deep and 16.26 inches high, and weighs 14.77 pounds. It is a stovetop canner compatible with gas and electric coil cooktops, not an electric appliance.
Neither canner is an electric pressure cooker. A reader searching for an electric model that reaches 15 PSI will not find that confirmed here, because the two products with published pressure information are the ones that sit on a burner.
Why the electric makers publish no PSI figure
Electric multi-cookers are sold on function count and speed. The Instant Pot Duo lists 7 cooking functions and 13 one-touch programs. The Midea lists 12 functions and a family-of-8 capacity. The Cosori lists 13 modes. None of those lists includes a working pressure, and none of the three makers publishes one in the material this site has compared.
Safety language fills the space where a pressure figure might sit. The Instant Pot cites over 10 safety mechanisms. The Midea cites pressure limit and overpressure automatic release. The Cosori cites 12 safety features. These describe what happens when pressure gets too high, not the pressure the cooker is designed to hold during normal operation.
This site has not compared a published PSI rating for any electric pressure cooker, because none of the three electric picks carries one. That is a statement about the published record, not about what the appliances do in a kitchen. Nobody at Lush has used these products, and no pressure was measured here.
How to read the specs before you buy
Start with the maker’s own feature list and look for a stated pressure in PSI. If it is absent, the maker has not committed to a figure, and no third party can supply one on the maker’s behalf. The T-fal title shows what a published pressure figure looks like: 3 PSI settings, stated plainly in the product name.
Then separate canning from cooking. The Presto and T-fal picks are built for jars, with published jar capacities and, in the Presto’s case, a dial gauge for processing pressures. The Instant Pot, Midea and Cosori picks are built for meals, with published wattage, capacity in quarts, dimensions in inches and weight in pounds. Those are the figures a buyer can actually check.
Finally, treat a safety feature named after pressure as a safety feature. Overpressure release and pressure limit describe protection, not performance. If a 15 PSI working pressure is the requirement, the published record in this guide does not confirm it for any electric model, and the honest answer is that the makers do not publish it.
Common questions
Do any electric pressure cookers in this guide publish a PSI rating?
No. The Instant Pot Duo 6 Qt, the Midea 12-in-1 8 Quarts and the Cosori 6QT each publish cooking functions, safety features and, for the Instant Pot, 1000 watts at 120 V 60 Hz. None of the three makers publishes a working pressure in PSI in the material this site has compared.
Which pick states a pressure figure in its title?
The T-fal 22-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner states 3 PSI settings in its product title. It is a stovetop canner compatible with gas and electric coil cooktops, not an electric pressure cooker, so it does not answer the question for electric models.
Does the Presto 01781 publish a pressure number?
The Presto 01781 publishes a deluxe pressure dial gauge that registers the complete range of processing pressures, and the maker notes that precise measurement matters at higher altitudes. The fact sheet does not give a single PSI figure for the vessel, so this page does not state one.
Is a pressure limit feature the same as a working pressure?
No. The Midea 12-in-1 lists pressure limit and overpressure automatic release as parts of its REALSAFE SYSTEM, and the Instant Pot lists overheat protection and a lid lock among over 10 safety mechanisms. These describe what happens when pressure runs too high, not the pressure the cooker holds while cooking.
What does the Instant Pot Duo publish instead of a pressure rating?
The Instant Pot Duo 6 Qt publishes 7 cooking functions, 13 one-touch programs, an 18/8 stainless steel inner pot with a tri-ply bottom, 1000 watts at 120 V 60 Hz, and dimensions of 12.6 inches wide, 13.0 inches deep and 12.2 inches high at 14.6 pounds. No PSI figure appears in that list.
Can I use an electric multi-cooker for pressure canning?
This page does not make that call. The Presto 01781 is described by its maker as the only method recommended safe by the US Department of Agriculture for canning vegetables, meats, poultry and seafood, and it is a stovetop canner. The electric picks are marketed for cooking functions, and their makers publish no canning pressure figure.