Lush Food & Drink
Buying Guide

Best Kitchen Island Carts for Small Kitchens

The deciding specification is published weight capacity, which ranges from 66 pounds on the MAHANCRIS to 450 pounds on the Seville Classics.

By the Lush Editorial Team·Researched & Compared

  • Researched & ComparedSpecs pulled from the manufacturer listing
  • Like-for-LikeSame measures across every model
  • No Paid PlacementsNobody pays to appear here

Five kitchen island carts compared on published dimensions, weight, caster count and stated load limits from the manufacturers' own listings.

Our Shortlist

Same Numbers. A Clearer Choice.
Best for heavy loads
Stainless-Steel Commercial-Grade NSF-Certified Prep ...

Stainless-Steel Commercial-Grade NSF-Certified Prep ...

Publishes a 450 pound total capacity and NSF certification to NSF/ANSI Standard 2.

  • 24" W x 20" D x 36" H
  • 24.6 lb
Check Price
Most storage compartments
HOSTACK 47" W Kitchen Island Cart with Storage

HOSTACK 47" W Kitchen Island Cart with Storage

Two drawers, a three-door cabinet, a side rack and five swivel casters.

  • 15.75"D x 47.24"W x 34.06"H
  • 95 lb
Check Price
Only one with drop-leaf extensions
GRUSIGN 49.6" Kitchen Island on Wheels with Storage-...

GRUSIGN 49.6" Kitchen Island on Wheels with Storage-...

Drop-leaf panels expand a 39.37 inch worktop for larger prep sessions.

  • 39.37 x 26.97 x 34.84 inches
  • 84.44 lb
Check Price
Only one with built-in power
MAHANCRIS Kitchen Island with Power Outlet

MAHANCRIS Kitchen Island with Power Outlet

A 4.9 foot cord feeds three AC outlets, one USB-A and one USB-C.

  • 32.8"L x 15"W x 32.7"H
  • 41.45 lb
Check Price
Best for a coordinated kitchen
VASAGLE Mobile Kitchen Wooden Island Cart with Stora...

VASAGLE Mobile Kitchen Wooden Island Cart with Stora...

Framed recessed doors and round knobs match the SIREN Collection.

  • 15.8"D x 30.9"W x 35.1"H
  • 38.1 lb
Check Price

Side by Side Comparison

ModelBrandSize (Capacity)WeightBest For
Stainless-Steel Commercial-Grade NSF-Certified Prep ... Seville Classics 24" W x 20" D x 36" H 24.6 lb Best for heavy loads
HOSTACK 47" W Kitchen Island Cart with Storage HOSTACK 15.75"D x 47.24"W x 34.06"H 95 lb Most storage compartments
GRUSIGN 49.6" Kitchen Island on Wheels with Storage-... GRUSIGN 39.37 x 26.97 x 34.84 inches 84.44 lb Only one with drop-leaf extensions
MAHANCRIS Kitchen Island with Power Outlet MAHANCRIS 32.8"L x 15"W x 32.7"H 41.45 lb Only one with built-in power
VASAGLE Mobile Kitchen Wooden Island Cart with Stora... VASAGLE 15.8"D x 30.9"W x 35.1"H 38.1 lb Best for a coordinated kitchen

Each Pick in Detail

1 Best for heavy loads
Stainless-Steel Commercial-Grade NSF-Certified Prep ...

Stainless-Steel Commercial-Grade NSF-Certified Prep ...

Publishes a 450 pound total capacity and NSF certification to NSF/ANSI Standard 2.

  • Publishes a 450 pound total capacity, split as 300 pounds on the tabletop, 50 pounds in the sliding basket and 100 pounds on the bottom shelf.
  • Certified by the NSF to NSF/ANSI Standard 2 for food equipment in dry environments.
  • Two tiers of storage adjust at 1 inch increments.
  • The maker does not publish a countertop material beyond the stainless steel description.
  • The published weight is 24.6 pounds, so it depends on its load limit rather than its own mass for stability.
Check Price
2 Most storage compartments
HOSTACK 47" W Kitchen Island Cart with Storage

HOSTACK 47" W Kitchen Island Cart with Storage

Two drawers, a three-door cabinet, a side rack and five swivel casters.

  • Five swivel casters, with one in the middle of the bottom for stability while moving.
  • Two drawers, a three-door cabinet and a side storage rack.
  • Two shelves in the side cabinet adjust for different sized items.
  • The maker does not publish a weight capacity for the cart or its shelves.
  • The maker does not state the countertop material.
Check Price
3 Only one with drop-leaf extensions
GRUSIGN 49.6" Kitchen Island on Wheels with Storage-...

GRUSIGN 49.6" Kitchen Island on Wheels with Storage-...

Drop-leaf panels expand a 39.37 inch worktop for larger prep sessions.

  • Drop-leaf extensions expand the work surface beyond the published 39.37 inch span.
  • The maker describes a 30 inch or longer uninterrupted worktop.
  • Heavy-duty 360 degree swivel locking wheels are included.
  • The maker does not publish a weight capacity.
  • The maker does not state the countertop material beyond calling it a wooden top.
Check Price
4 Only one with built-in power
MAHANCRIS Kitchen Island with Power Outlet

MAHANCRIS Kitchen Island with Power Outlet

A 4.9 foot cord feeds three AC outlets, one USB-A and one USB-C.

  • A 4.9 foot power cord with three AC outlets, one USB-A and one USB-C port.
  • Open shelves, a wine rack, a drawer, a cabinet, side spice racks and a towel holder are published.
  • A three-height adjustable shelf sits inside the cabinet.
  • The published static load capacity is 66 pounds, the lowest figure among these five.
  • The maker does not publish a weight capacity for the individual shelves.
Check Price
5 Best for a coordinated kitchen
VASAGLE Mobile Kitchen Wooden Island Cart with Stora...

VASAGLE Mobile Kitchen Wooden Island Cart with Stora...

Framed recessed doors and round knobs match the SIREN Collection.

  • Publishes a 253 pound load capacity.
  • Four 360 degree swivel casters, two with brakes.
  • A large drawer and a lower cabinet with an adjustable shelf.
  • The maker does not publish a weight capacity for the drawer or the shelf separately.
  • The maker does not state the countertop material.
Check Price

Our Verdict

The Seville Classics prep table cart is the one to pick when load matters: the maker publishes a 450 pound total capacity and NSF certification to NSF/ANSI Standard 2. The HOSTACK publishes the largest weight at 95 pounds and five swivel casters. The GRUSIGN adds drop-leaf extensions to a 39.37 inch top. The MAHANCRIS publishes a 4.9 foot power cord with three AC outlets, one USB-A and one USB-C. The VASAGLE publishes a 253 pound capacity and two braked casters.

“Published load limits, not impressions, decide these five.”

Lush Food & Drink
Good Food
Brighter Days

What Separates These Five

Start with the load limit The Seville Classics publishes 450 pounds total, the VASAGLE 253 pounds, the MAHANCRIS 66 pounds. The HOSTACK and GRUSIGN publish no capacity at all.
Count the casters The HOSTACK publishes five swivel casters. The Seville Classics, VEVOR, VASAGLE, GRUSIGN and MAHANCRIS each publish four, and the MAHANCRIS, VASAGLE and GRUSIGN state that two of theirs lock.
Check what the top is made of The Seville Classics publishes a stainless steel top with a brushed finish. The VEVOR publishes solid rubber wood. The Boraam publishes stainless steel. The HOSTACK, GRUSIGN and MAHANCRIS state no top material.
Power at the cart Only the MAHANCRIS publishes outlets: three AC, one USB-A and one USB-C on a 4.9 foot cord.
Plan for assembly The HOSTACK, VASAGLE and GRUSIGN publish numbered parts and instructions. The GRUSIGN states two people can complete it.

How We Chose

Published load capacity
Caster count and locking
Countertop material
Published footprint
Outlets and cord length
Assembly documentation

Frequently Asked Questions

Which of these carts publishes the highest load capacity?+

The Seville Classics prep table cart publishes a 450 pound total capacity, evenly distributed. That splits into 300 pounds for the stainless steel tabletop, 50 pounds for the sliding basket and 100 pounds for the bottom shelf. The next highest published figure is the VASAGLE at 253 pounds, followed by the MAHANCRIS at 66 pounds. The HOSTACK and GRUSIGN publish no capacity figure.

Do any of these carts have built-in power outlets?+

Only the MAHANCRIS publishes outlets. Its listing states a 4.9 foot power cord with three AC outlets, one USB-A port and one USB-C port. The other four listings do not mention outlets or a cord. If you want to run a coffee machine or a bread maker at the cart, that published detail is the one to weigh.

How much do these carts weigh?+

The Seville Classics publishes 24.6 pounds, the ThreeHio 11 pounds, the VASAGLE 38.1 pounds, the MAHANCRIS 41.45 pounds, the Boraam 64 pounds, the VEVOR 66 pounds, the GRUSIGN 84.44 pounds and the HOSTACK 95 pounds. Weight is the manufacturer's published figure, not a measurement taken here.

Which cart has the most casters?+

The HOSTACK publishes five smooth swivel casters, with one placed in the middle of the bottom to improve stability while moving. Every other cart in this set publishes four. The MAHANCRIS, VASAGLE and GRUSIGN each state that two of their four casters lock, and the Seville Classics states that two of its four lock.

Can these carts be used outdoors?+

The Seville Classics listing states NSF certification to NSF/ANSI Standard 2 for use in dry environments, which is a published indoor rating. The other four listings do not publish an outdoor rating or a weather resistance claim. The VEVOR and ThreeHio describe their surfaces as waterproof, which is a material claim rather than an outdoor rating.

What do the makers not publish about these carts?+

Weight capacity is the biggest gap. The HOSTACK and GRUSIGN publish none. Countertop material is the second: the HOSTACK, GRUSIGN and MAHANCRIS do not state what the top is made of. Per-shelf limits are the third, published only by the Seville Classics and the Boraam. None of the listings says which dimension is the depth.

Specifications come from the manufacturers' own published listings. Lush Food & Drink may earn a commission if you buy through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. How we research.

How the Five Compare on the Numbers

The five carts in this guide publish very different sets of figures. The Seville Classics states a 450 pound total capacity and an NSF certification. The VASAGLE states 253 pounds. The MAHANCRIS states 66 pounds. The HOSTACK and GRUSIGN publish no capacity figure at all, so a reader comparing them has to work from dimensions, caster count and storage layout instead. That is a real limit on what any comparison can say.

On weight, the published figures run from 24.6 pounds for the Seville Classics to 95 pounds for the HOSTACK. On footprint, the published width runs from 24 inches for the Seville Classics to 47.24 inches for the HOSTACK, and the published depth runs from 14.96 inches for the MAHANCRIS to 26.97 inches for the GRUSIGN. The listings do not say which of the three published dimensions is the depth of the object, so treat each figure as printed.

Specification Seville Classics HOSTACK GRUSIGN MAHANCRIS VASAGLE
Published width 24.0 in 47.24 in 39.37 in 32.87 in 30.91 in
Published depth 20.0 in 15.75 in 26.97 in 14.96 in 15.75 in
Published height 36.0 in 33.86 in 34.84 in 32.68 in 35.12 in
Published weight 24.6 lb 95.0 lb 84.44 lb 41.45 lb 38.1 lb
Published load capacity 450 lb not published not published 66 lb 253 lb
Published caster count 4 5 4 4 4
Locking casters 2 of 4 not published stated as locking 2 of 4 2 of 4
Countertop material Stainless steel not published Wooden top not published not published
Outlets published No No No 3 AC, 1 USB-A, 1 USB-C No
Adjustable shelf 1 in increments Yes, in side cabinet Not stated 3 heights Yes

The table cannot tell you how any of these carts feels to push, how the drawers glide, or whether the finish survives a hot pan. Nobody here has used them. It also cannot tell you which published dimension is the depth, because the listings do not say. What it can do is show where a maker has published nothing, which is itself a fact worth knowing before you buy.

Load Limits and What the Makers Publish

The carts with stated capacities

The Seville Classics publishes the most detailed capacity breakdown of the five: 450 pounds total, split into 300 pounds for the stainless steel tabletop, 50 pounds for the sliding basket and 100 pounds for the bottom shelf. That level of detail is unusual. The VASAGLE publishes a single figure of 253 pounds for the whole cart, and the MAHANCRIS publishes 66 pounds as a static load capacity. Both are totals without a per-shelf split.

The Boraam, which is not among these five, publishes 200 pounds for the cart and 50 pounds for its shelves, showing that a per-shelf figure is possible to state. The HOSTACK and GRUSIGN state no capacity at all. If you plan to set a stand mixer or a stack of cast iron on the top, the published figure is the only thing you can check before the cart arrives.

Why the missing figures matter

A cart with no published capacity is not necessarily weak. It is simply undocumented on the point that matters most for a work surface. The HOSTACK publishes five casters and a middle caster for stability, which suggests the maker thought about load, but the listing stops short of a number. The GRUSIGN publishes heavy-duty locking wheels and a drop-leaf worktop, again without a capacity figure.

For a reader, the practical move is to weigh what you intend to put on the cart against the published figure where one exists, and to treat an unpublished figure as unknown rather than as generous. That is the honest reading of these listings, and it is the reason the Seville Classics and VASAGLE sit at the top of this guide for load.

Storage Layout and Mobility

Drawers, cabinets and racks

The HOSTACK publishes the most compartment detail: two drawers of different sizes, a three-door cabinet, a side storage rack and a swing-out door with its own rack. The MAHANCRIS publishes open shelves, a wine rack, a drawer, a cabinet, side spice racks and a towel holder, plus a three-height adjustable shelf inside the cabinet. The VASAGLE publishes a large drawer, a lower cabinet with an adjustable shelf and a side bar that doubles as a towel rack.

The GRUSIGN publishes multiple drawers, closed cabinets and built-in spice racks, along with drop-leaf extensions that expand the work surface. The Seville Classics publishes the simplest layout: one sliding wire drawer basket 4 inches deep and one wire shelf, both adjustable at 1 inch increments. Simplicity there is deliberate, since the cart is built around a stainless steel work surface rather than storage volume.

How each cart moves

The HOSTACK publishes five swivel casters, one in the middle of the bottom, which is the only five-caster arrangement in this set. The Seville Classics publishes four 3 inch swivel wheels with two locking. The VASAGLE publishes four 360 degree swivel casters with two brakes and a side handle for repositioning. The MAHANCRIS publishes four industrial casters with two lockable. The GRUSIGN publishes heavy-duty 360 degree swivel locking wheels.

The GRUSIGN listing notes that its wheels move smoothly even in tight spaces, which is a maker claim rather than a measured result. The VASAGLE is the only one of the five that publishes a handle for moving the cart, though the MAHANCRIS and VEVOR both publish a towel holder that could serve a similar purpose. Caster diameter is published only by the Seville Classics, at 3 inches.

Which One Fits Your Kitchen

Buyer who needs a cart to carry real weight. The Seville Classics publishes 450 pounds total and NSF certification. Its stainless steel top and 24.6 pound frame suit a cart that stays put and takes a heavy load.

Buyer with a long wall and a lot of small items. The HOSTACK publishes a 47.24 inch width, five casters, two drawers, a three-door cabinet and a side rack. It is the heaviest of the five at 95 pounds.

Buyer who hosts and needs more work surface. The GRUSIGN publishes drop-leaf extensions on a 39.37 inch top, plus multiple drawers, closed cabinets and spice racks. It publishes no load capacity.

Buyer who wants power at the cart. The MAHANCRIS publishes three AC outlets, one USB-A and one USB-C on a 4.9 foot cord, with a 66 pound static capacity and a three-height adjustable shelf.

Buyer matching a room’s furniture. The VASAGLE publishes framed recessed doors and round knobs from the SIREN Collection, a 253 pound capacity and two braked casters on a 30.91 inch frame.

What We Could Not Verify

Several figures a buyer would want are not published anywhere in these listings. We did not estimate them.

  • A weight capacity for the HOSTACK cart or its shelves. The maker publishes none.
  • A weight capacity for the GRUSIGN cart or its drop-leaf panels. The maker publishes none.
  • The countertop material for the HOSTACK, GRUSIGN and MAHANCRIS. None of the three states it.
  • Which published dimension is the depth and which is the height. The listings do not say.
  • A per-shelf load limit for the VASAGLE, MAHANCRIS, VEVOR and HOSTACK. Only the Seville Classics and Boraam publish shelf limits.
  • A caster diameter for the HOSTACK, GRUSIGN, MAHANCRIS and VASAGLE. Only the Seville Classics publishes one, at 3 inches.