Lush Food & Drink

Buying Guide ·Pasta

Best Tortilla Presses for Corn and Flour Tortillas

The deciding specification is the pressing plate, the diameter the maker states and what the plate is made of, because one maker's own advice ties corn dough to a smaller plate and flour dough to a larger one.

By the Lush Editorial Team·Researched & Compared

  • Researched & ComparedSpecs pulled from the manufacturer listing
  • Like-for-LikeSame measures across every model
  • No Paid PlacementsNobody pays to appear here

I compared stated plate diameters, pressing surfaces, hinge and bolt hardware, handle descriptions, spare parts, parchment included and every published dimension across six tortilla press listings, using only the makers' own text.

Our shortlist

Five products, one set of published numbers.
  1. Victoria Cast Iron Tortilla Press
    Best for corn tortillas on seasoned iron

    Victoria Cast Iron Tortilla Press

    A cast iron press published at 8 by 8 by 3.1 inches and 8 pounds, seasoned with non GMO, kosher certified flaxseed oil and stated to be made without PTFE or PFAS, with flat plates engineered to prevent pinching, an ergonomic handle for better resistance, and the only care instruction in this pool that names what you must not do.

    • Victoria
    • 8" Traditional Press
    • 8 lb
  2. Uno Casa Cast Iron Tortilla Press 8 Inch | Pre-Seaso...
    Best for spares in the box

    Uno Casa Cast Iron Tortilla Press 8 Inch | Pre-Seaso...

    A pre seasoned cast iron press published at 8 by 9.8 by 2 inches and 7.05 pounds, stated ready to use out of the box, with a level pressing surface described as shaping dough evenly, 100 rounds of parchment paper and an extra screw set, which is the only replacement part anything in this pool offers.

    • Uno Casa
    • 8 inch
    • 7.05 lb
  3. ARC 8-Inch Cast Iron Tortilla Press with 100 Parchme...
    Best for a handle built to take force

    ARC 8-Inch Cast Iron Tortilla Press with 100 Parchme...

    A pre seasoned cast iron press published at 9 by 9.8 by 2.5 inches whose handle is stated to be wider and thicker than the previous version, not breakable and with extra strength resistance, offered at 6.5, 8 and 10 inches with 100 pieces of parchment, and whose weight field disagreed with its own size list and is not used here.

    • ARC Advanced Royal Champion
    • 8 inches
    • 3.57 lb
  4. Wooden Tortilla Press Bamboo
    Best for pressing large flour tortillas

    Wooden Tortilla Press Bamboo

    The only press here stated at 10 inches, built from two stainless steel plates set into a natural bamboo base, supported by three oversized steel hinges and a five bolt handle, published at 6 pounds, stated to be water and corrosion resistant and to arrive fully assembled with no assembly required.

    • CBFULLRES
    • Extra Large
    • 6 lb
  5. IMUSA USA Tortilla Press
    Best for pressing with a lever, not your weight

    IMUSA USA Tortilla Press

    A cast aluminum press with a gray surface published at 8.07 by 9.84 by 5.91 inches, stated to be lighter than traditional cast iron and more comfortable to handle, worked by a lever the listing says makes pressing quick and effortless, needing no seasoning, and publishing no weight to support the lighter claim.

    • Imusa
    • 8 Inch
    • Weight not listed

Side by side

Blank means the maker does not publish it.
ModelBrandSize (capacity)WeightBest for
Victoria Cast Iron Tortilla Press Victoria 8" Traditional Press 8 lb Best for corn tortillas on seasoned iron
Uno Casa Cast Iron Tortilla Press 8 Inch | Pre-Seaso... Uno Casa 8 inch 7.05 lb Best for spares in the box
ARC 8-Inch Cast Iron Tortilla Press with 100 Parchme... ARC Advanced Royal Champion 8 inches 3.57 lb Best for a handle built to take force
Wooden Tortilla Press Bamboo CBFULLRES Extra Large 6 lb Best for pressing large flour tortillas
IMUSA USA Tortilla Press Imusa 8 Inch not published Best for pressing with a lever, not your weight

Each pick in detail

What the listing says for it, and against it.
1 Best for corn tortillas on seasoned iron

Victoria Cast Iron Tortilla Press

A cast iron press published at 8 by 8 by 3.1 inches and 8 pounds, seasoned with non GMO, kosher certified flaxseed oil and stated to be made without PTFE or PFAS, with flat plates engineered to prevent pinching, an ergonomic handle for better resistance, and the only care instruction in this pool that names what you must not do.

  • For it
  • Names what seasons the iron: non GMO, kosher certified flaxseed oil
  • States it is made without PTFE, PFAS or other forever chemicals
  • Flat plates stated to be engineered to prevent pinching
  • Publishes all three dimensions and a weight of 8 pounds
  • Against it
  • Must never be air dried or put in a dishwasher, in its own words
  • No parchment paper included, unlike two others here
  • No spare parts offered and no hinge or bolt detail published
2 Best for spares in the box

Uno Casa Cast Iron Tortilla Press 8 Inch | Pre-Seaso...

A pre seasoned cast iron press published at 8 by 9.8 by 2 inches and 7.05 pounds, stated ready to use out of the box, with a level pressing surface described as shaping dough evenly, 100 rounds of parchment paper and an extra screw set, which is the only replacement part anything in this pool offers.

  • For it
  • Ships an extra screw set, the only spare part in this pool
  • 100 rounds of parchment paper included
  • Pre seasoned and stated ready to use
  • Publishes all three dimensions and a weight of 7.05 pounds
  • Against it
  • Publishes no care or cleaning instruction of any kind
  • Says nothing about its handle, hinges or bolts
  • Only an 8 inch plate and no other size offered
3 Best for a handle built to take force

ARC 8-Inch Cast Iron Tortilla Press with 100 Parchme...

A pre seasoned cast iron press published at 9 by 9.8 by 2.5 inches whose handle is stated to be wider and thicker than the previous version, not breakable and with extra strength resistance, offered at 6.5, 8 and 10 inches with 100 pieces of parchment, and whose weight field disagreed with its own size list and is not used here.

  • For it
  • The same press is offered at 6.5, 8 and 10 inches
  • Handle stated to be wider and thicker, not breakable
  • 100 pieces of parchment paper included
  • States a wash and dry routine in its own words
  • Against it
  • Its weight field disagreed with its own size list, so no weight is used here
  • Publishes no hinge or bolt detail
  • Nothing states whether the hardware differs between the three sizes
4 Best for pressing large flour tortillas

Wooden Tortilla Press Bamboo

The only press here stated at 10 inches, built from two stainless steel plates set into a natural bamboo base, supported by three oversized steel hinges and a five bolt handle, published at 6 pounds, stated to be water and corrosion resistant and to arrive fully assembled with no assembly required.

  • For it
  • The only press here stated at 10 inches
  • Stainless steel pressing plates need no seasoning
  • Three oversized steel hinges and a five bolt handle, the only hardware count published
  • Stated to arrive fully assembled
  • Against it
  • Publishes no dimensions at all, only a 10 inch plate in its own words
  • Parchment is included but the count is not stated
  • A bamboo base is a different repair problem from an all metal press
5 Best for pressing with a lever, not your weight

IMUSA USA Tortilla Press

A cast aluminum press with a gray surface published at 8.07 by 9.84 by 5.91 inches, stated to be lighter than traditional cast iron and more comfortable to handle, worked by a lever the listing says makes pressing quick and effortless, needing no seasoning, and publishing no weight to support the lighter claim.

  • For it
  • Cast aluminum, stated to be lighter than traditional cast iron
  • Needs no seasoning, unlike the three iron presses here
  • Lever stated to make pressing quick and effortless
  • Publishes all three dimensions
  • Against it
  • Publishes no weight, so the lighter claim has no figure behind it
  • Its third published figure is 5.91 inches, so it wants a cupboard
  • No parchment, no spares and no hinge or bolt detail

Our verdict

CBFULLRES states 10 inches, with stainless steel plates on a bamboo base, three oversized steel hinges, a five bolt handle and no assembly needed. Victoria, Uno Casa and ARC all state 8 inches in cast iron, and ARC alone offers 6.5, 8 and 10 inch versions. Imusa states 8 inches in cast aluminum with a lever instead of mass. Alpha Living states 8 inches and publishes nothing else, so it is left out of the five.

“The plate decides more here than the pounds do.”

Lush Editorial Team

What separates these five

Four state 8 inches, one states 10 Victoria, Uno Casa, ARC and Imusa all call themselves 8 inch presses. CBFULLRES is the only one here stated at 10 inches.
Three materials, three different chores Three presses are cast iron and need seasoning kept up. Imusa is cast aluminum and needs none. CBFULLRES puts stainless steel plates on a bamboo base.
One weight figure was thrown out ARC's own bullet lists 6.5 inch at 4.69 lbs, 8 inch at 8.45 lbs and 10 inch at 18.25 lbs. The weight field on this 8 inch listing did not match that list, so no weight is used for it.
Only one listing counts its hardware CBFULLRES names three oversized steel hinges and a five bolt handle. The other four describe a handle at best and never mention a hinge.
One press ships a spare part Uno Casa includes an extra screw set. Nothing else in this pool offers a replacement part for a tool that lives or dies at its joints.

How we chose

Priorities, not a computed score. The inputs are published specifications, so we rank by what matters most and say how much.

  1. 35% The plate diameter the maker statesThis is the specification that changes what you can press. ARC's own bullet is the clearest statement of it in the pool: corn dough does better on a smaller diameter and flour dough needs a larger pressing area. Four of these presses state 8 inches, one states 10, and one brand offers 6.5, 8 and 10. No listing publishes the plate as a measured field, so the maker's own word is all there is.
  2. 20% What the pressing surface is made ofCast iron brings mass you do not have to supply with your arm, and it brings seasoning and rust to manage. Cast aluminum drops the mass and the maintenance together. Stainless steel plates wipe clean and need no seasoning at all. Three of these five are iron, one is aluminum and one is steel on bamboo, and each choice sets a different weekly chore.
  3. 15% Hinge, bolt and handle hardwareA press does not wear out in the middle of the plate, it wears out at the joint. Only one listing here counts its hardware, naming three oversized steel hinges and a five bolt handle. Two others describe a handle as reinforced or ergonomic without a number, and one says nothing about its handle at all. That silence is scored as silence.
  4. 15% What actually arrives in the boxParchment is the difference between pressing tonight and going out for wax paper. Uno Casa states 100 rounds, ARC states 100 pieces, CBFULLRES says parchment is included without a count, and two listings mention none. Uno Casa is also the only one shipping an extra screw set, and CBFULLRES is the only one stating the press comes fully assembled.
  5. 15% How completely the listing publishes its figuresA listing that publishes nothing cannot be compared, and that has real consequences on this page. Alpha Living states 8 inches and gives no dimensions, no weight and no hardware, which is why it is not one of the five. CBFULLRES publishes a weight and no dimensions. ARC published a weight that contradicted its own size list, so it is treated as unpublished.

How the Five Compare on the Numbers

A tortilla press is two plates and a lever, and the plate is the part that decides what you can actually make. Four of these five state an 8 inch plate and one states 10. ARC’s own bullet explains why the figure matters: corn dough does better on a smaller diameter, while flour dough needs a larger pressing area to spread into.

The other half of the plate question is what it is made of. Three of the five are cast iron, one is cast aluminum with a gray surface, and one sets stainless steel plates into a bamboo base. Weight is not the axis of this page. Two of the five publish no weight at all, and one maker’s own figures did not agree with each other.

Specification Victoria Uno Casa ARC Imusa CBFULLRES
Plate size stated in the text 8 in 8 in 8 in 8 in 10 in
Pressing surface Cast iron Cast iron Cast iron Cast aluminum Stainless steel
Body material Cast iron Cast iron Cast iron Cast aluminum Bamboo
Published width and depth 8 x 8 in 8 x 9.8 in 9 x 9.8 in 8.07 x 9.84 in not published
Published third figure 3.1 in 2 in 2.5 in 5.91 in not published
Published weight 8 lb 7.05 lb not published not published 6 lb
Other plate sizes offered not published not published 6.5, 8 and 10 in not published not published
Hinge and bolt hardware named not published not published not published not published Three steel hinges, five bolts
Handle described Ergonomic, for resistance not published Wider, thicker, reinforced Lever for easy pressing Ergonomic, uses leverage
Seasoning stated Flaxseed oil Pre seasoned Pre seasoned None needed not published
Parchment in the box not published 100 rounds 100 pieces not published Included, count not stated
Spare parts in the box not published Extra screw set not published not published not published
Assembly stated not published not published not published not published Fully assembled

What the table cannot tell you is which published figure is the thickness of the press shut, because the fields never say which dimension is which. It also cannot tell you how hard each one is to work. Four listings describe a handle in words, only one names its hinges and bolts, and not one of them states the force a plate needs to close on dough.

The Plate Is the Specification

Eight Inches, Four Times Over

Victoria, Uno Casa, ARC and Imusa all state 8 inches, and that is the size the category has settled on. It is a sensible default because it covers a taco sized corn tortilla with room to spare and still fits a burrito sized flour round if you press a little thinner. All four say so in different words, listing tortillas, tostones, arepas, empanadas and roti.

The four are not the same press, though. Victoria publishes a square 8 by 8 inch pair of figures, Uno Casa 8 by 9.8, ARC 9 by 9.8, and Imusa 8.07 by 9.84. Those differences are the frame and the lever arm around a plate the makers all call 8 inches, not the pressing area itself, and no listing publishes the plate diameter as a separate measurement.

The One That States Ten

CBFULLRES states 10 inches, and it is the only listing here that does. If you mostly press flour tortillas, that is the entry to read first, because ARC’s own guidance is that flour dough needs the larger pressing area and corn dough does better on a smaller one. A 10 inch plate also gives you room to press a smaller round off center when you want one.

ARC is the other way into a bigger plate. Its bullet offers the same press at 6.5, 8 and 10 inches, so the choice is made before you buy rather than by buying a different brand. The listing on this page is the 8 inch. Nothing in the pool tells you whether the hardware changes between those three sizes, only that the sizes exist.

Cast Iron, Cast Aluminum, or Steel on Bamboo

What the Iron Asks of You

Three presses here are cast iron and each one handles the consequences differently. Victoria is seasoned with non GMO, kosher certified flaxseed oil and states it is made without PTFE or PFAS, then tells you plainly that it must never be air dried or put in a dishwasher, and that following the included instructions is how you avoid rust. That is the most honest care paragraph in the pool.

Uno Casa and ARC both arrive pre seasoned and ready to use. ARC adds a wash and dry routine in its own words, hand wash before and after use and dry thoroughly with a paper towel before storing. Uno Casa states nothing about care at all, which is a gap rather than a promise. Iron rewards you with mass you do not have to supply yourself.

The Two That Are Not Iron

Imusa is cast aluminum with a gray surface, and its listing makes the trade explicit: lighter than traditional cast iron, more comfortable to operate, easier to handle. It publishes no weight to back that up, so the claim stands on the material rather than on a figure. It also publishes 5.91 inches as its third dimension, where the other three published pairs sit at 3.1, 2 and 2.5 inches, and that extra room is the lever.

CBFULLRES takes a third route, two stainless steel plates set into a bamboo base. That puts a wipe clean surface against the dough and no seasoning anywhere in the description, and the listing calls the bamboo water and corrosion resistant. It publishes 6 pounds. Of the three presses that publish a weight, the figures run 6, 7.05 and 8 pounds, which is a narrow band.

Hardware, Spares and What Is in the Box

Hinges, Bolts and Handles

A press fails at its joints, so it is worth noting how little any of these makers say about them. CBFULLRES is the exception and names three oversized steel hinges and a five bolt handle. That is the only count of hardware anywhere in the pool, and it is also the only listing that states the press arrives fully assembled with no assembly required.

The rest describe the handle and stop. ARC says its handle is wider and thicker than before, not breakable, with extra strength resistance. Victoria says its handle is ergonomic for better resistance and that its flat plates are engineered to prevent pinching. Imusa describes a lever that makes pressing quick. Uno Casa says nothing about its handle, only that the surface is level.

The Weight Figure That Was Set Aside

ARC publishes a size list in its own bullet: 6.5 inch at 4.69 lbs, 8 inch at 8.45 lbs, 10 inch at 18.25 lbs. The listing on this page is the 8 inch one, and the weight that came through in its own weight field did not match that list at all. It was a small figure, far below what the maker says an 8 inch press weighs.

So the figure was set aside and no weight is used for ARC anywhere on this page. This is worth saying out loud because an earlier version of this page ranked the five on published weight and built its top pick on that bad field. A specification only two of the five actually publish cannot decide a page, which is why the plate does instead.

Which One Fits Your Kitchen

The flour tortilla household. CBFULLRES states 10 inches, the only press here that does, plus stainless plates, three steel hinges, a five bolt handle and no assembly. If your dough spreads wide and you want the larger pressing area ARC’s own guidance recommends for flour, this is the entry to read first.

The corn tortilla traditionalist. Victoria is cast iron seasoned in flaxseed oil, made in Colombia since 1939, with flat plates engineered not to pinch and a square 8 by 8 inch pair of published figures. It also tells you exactly how to care for it, including the dishwasher ban that most of this pool leaves unsaid.

The cook who wants to start tonight. Uno Casa arrives pre seasoned with 100 rounds of parchment paper and an extra screw set, the only spare part offered by anything in this pool. Nothing else here ships a replacement part, and on a hinged tool that is a real difference rather than a marketing line.

The buyer who wants to choose the size. ARC offers the same press at 6.5, 8 and 10 inches and describes a reinforced handle that is wider and thicker than its previous one. It also ships 100 pieces of parchment. Its published weight is the one figure on this page that was discarded rather than used.

The cook with tired wrists. Imusa is cast aluminum rather than iron, with a lever the listing says makes pressing quick and effortless, and it needs no seasoning. It publishes 5.91 inches as its third figure, so it will want a cupboard rather than a drawer, and it publishes no weight to prove the lighter claim.

What We Could Not Verify

Everything above comes from the makers’ own listings. These are the things I went looking for and could not source anywhere in them.

  • No listing publishes the plate diameter as a measured field. Every 8 inch and 10 inch figure on this page is the maker’s own word for the press, not a dimension it published.
  • ARC’s weight field did not match the size list in its own bullet, so it is treated as unpublished here. Which of the two was wrong is not knowable from the listing.
  • Imusa and Alpha Living publish no weight, and Imusa’s claim to be lighter than cast iron therefore has no figure behind it.
  • CBFULLRES publishes no dimensions at all, so its 10 inch plate cannot be set against the 8 by 8 and 9 by 9.8 inch pairs the others publish.
  • No listing states the force needed to close a plate on dough, and none states the plate thickness, which is what would actually predict how evenly a press works.
  • Alpha Living states 8 inches in diameter and publishes no dimensions, no weight and no hardware detail, which is why it is not one of the five.

Frequently asked questions

Does an 8 inch press make an 8 inch tortilla?+

Not exactly, and no listing here promises it does. The stated size is the maker's word for the press, not a measured plate diameter, and none of these six publishes the plate as a separate field. Dough also springs back after the plates open. What the figure is genuinely useful for is the comparison ARC makes in its own bullet: a smaller diameter suits corn dough and a larger pressing area suits flour, so treat 8 inches and 10 inches as a class of press rather than a finished tortilla.

Should I buy cast iron or cast aluminum?+

It depends on which chore you would rather do. The three iron presses here, Victoria, Uno Casa and ARC, bring mass that does the pressing for you, and two of them state they arrive pre seasoned while Victoria names the flaxseed oil it is seasoned with and forbids the dishwasher outright. Imusa is cast aluminum and states it is lighter and more comfortable to handle, needing no seasoning at all, though it publishes no weight to put a number on that.

Why is there no weight listed for two of these presses?+

Because the makers do not publish one. Imusa publishes three dimensions and no weight, which is awkward given that its whole argument is being lighter than iron. ARC is a different case: its own bullet lists 6.5 inch at 4.69 lbs, 8 inch at 8.45 lbs and 10 inch at 18.25 lbs, and the weight that came with this 8 inch listing did not match that list. Rather than pick one, the figure was set aside and no weight is used for ARC here.

Which of these presses can I use the day it arrives?+

Uno Casa and ARC both state they are pre seasoned and ready to use, and both include parchment paper, 100 rounds and 100 pieces respectively. CBFULLRES states it arrives fully assembled with no assembly required and includes parchment without giving a count. Victoria is seasoned with flaxseed oil but tells you to follow the included care instructions before you get going. Imusa needs no seasoning because it is cast aluminum, and includes no parchment.

What else can these presses make besides tortillas?+

All five listings claim a wide range and they overlap heavily. Between them they name flour, corn, gluten free, paleo and wheat tortillas, plus tostones, patacones, arepas, empanadas, quesadillas, pita bread, flatbread, roti, chapati, dumplings and mini pie shells. Victoria calls itself a pataconera and Uno Casa a chapati press, which is the same tool under two names. Nothing in any listing states a dough thickness or a diameter for any of those foods.

Why was one press left out of the five?+

Alpha Living states 8 inches in diameter and describes itself as cast iron, heavy duty, compact and lightweight, but publishes no dimensions, no weight, no hinge or bolt detail and no care routine beyond easy to clean. There is nothing in it to compare against the other five on any axis this page uses. It may be a perfectly good press. The listing simply does not say enough for it to earn a place here.

Specifications come from the manufacturers' own published listings. Lush Food & Drink may earn a commission if you buy through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. How we research.