Lush Food & Drink

Explainer

Which pressure cooker is good for sterilization?

The Cosori Pressure Cooker 6QT is the only pick in our guide that lists a dedicated Sterilize program, but the makers do not publish the temperatures or times it reaches.

By the Lush Editorial Team·Researched & Compared

The Cosori Pressure Cooker 6QT is the only pick in our guide to pressure cookers that lists a dedicated Sterilize program among its cooking functions. The other four picks do not list a sterilization mode, and none of the makers publish the temperatures or hold times their appliances reach in any mode, so sterilization performance cannot be compared on published figures.

That absence matters because sterilization is a time and temperature claim, not a capacity claim. A larger canner or a higher wattage does not by itself establish that an appliance holds a sterilizing temperature long enough. What follows is a guide to the published specifications of the five picks in Best Pressure Cookers for Canning and Fast Meals, and to what those specifications do and do not tell you about sterilization.

The one pick with a Sterilize program

The Cosori Pressure Cooker 6QT lists Sterilize as one of its functions, alongside Pressure Cook, Rice, Steam, Oatmeal/Porridge, Stew/Broth, Bean/Grain, Meat/Poultry, Slow Cook, Sauté, Ferment, Sous Vide and Keep Warm. The maker also states 12 safety features, including a double-layer anti-scalding lid and overheat protection, and a Seal/Vent button placed away from the steam release valve with a 30 degree backward-angled steam release design. The pot is 6 quarts and the unit weighs 11.9 pounds. The maker does not publish the temperature or duration of the Sterilize program.

That last point is the limit of what the listing can tell you. A named program confirms the maker intends the appliance to be used for that task. It does not confirm a sterilizing standard, and it does not let you compare the Cosori against a stovetop canner on equal terms. If you need a documented sterilization cycle, the Cosori listing does not supply one.

The stovetop canners and their published figures

The Presto 01781 is a 23 quart pressure canner and cooker, 17.5 inches wide, 13.5 inches deep and 15.5 inches tall, weighing 12.0 pounds. The maker states it is the only method recommended safe by the US Department of Agriculture for canning vegetables, meats, poultry and seafood, and that it doubles as a boiling-water canner. It has a deluxe pressure dial gauge that registers the complete range of processing pressures, which the maker notes is important at higher altitudes. Mason jar capacity is listed as 26 half-pints, 20 pints or 7 quarts.

The T-fal 22-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner is 15.39 inches wide, 19.33 inches deep and 16.26 inches tall, weighing 14.77 pounds. The maker states it supports the USDA-recommended pressure canning method for low-acid foods and boiling-water canning for high-acid foods, and lists three PSI settings. Jar capacity is up to 24 half-pint jars, 16 wide-mouth pint jars, 18 pint jars or 7 quart jars per batch. Neither maker lists a sterilization program, and neither publishes a sterilization temperature or time.

The electric multicookers without a sterilize mode

The Instant Pot Duo 6 Qt is a 7-in-1 electric pressure cooker, 12.6 inches wide, 13.0 inches deep and 12.2 inches tall, weighing 14.6 pounds. The maker lists pressure cook, slow cook, sauté, steam, rice, yogurt and keep warm, with 13 one-touch programs, a stainless steel 18/8 inner pot with a tri-ply bottom, and 1000 watts at 120 V 60 Hz. The maker states it cooks up to 70 percent faster than slow cooking methods. Sterilize is not among the listed functions, and the maker does not publish a sterilization temperature or time.

The Midea 12-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker is 8 quarts, 11.6 inches wide, 11.1 inches deep and 11.6 inches tall. The maker lists pressure cook, sauté, steam, slow cook, oatmeal, soup, rice, bean chili and yogurt among its functions, a stainless steel inner pot, and a REALSAFE SYSTEM with pressure limit, over temperature and overpressure automatic release. The maker states one-pot cooking is up to 70 percent faster than traditional cooking methods. The maker does not publish a weight for this model, and does not list a sterilize program or a sterilization temperature.

What the makers publish about sterilization

Across the five picks, only Cosori names a Sterilize function. None of the five makers publishes a sterilization temperature, a hold time, or a claim that the appliance meets a sterilization standard. The Presto and T-fal listings describe USDA-recommended canning methods, which is a canning claim, not a sterilization claim. The Instant Pot and Midea listings describe cooking functions and safety systems, not sterilization cycles.

This site has not compared sterilization performance for any of these appliances, and nobody at Lush has used them. The figures above are the makers’ published dimensions, capacities and features. Where a number is missing, such as the Midea weight or the Cosori width, depth and height, the maker does not publish it. Those gaps are not a judgment on the appliance; they are simply the edge of the published record.

How to read the listings for a sterilization task

Start with the function list. A named Sterilize program, as on the Cosori, tells you the maker built the appliance for that use. A canning claim, as on the Presto and T-fal, tells you the maker built the appliance for pressure canning under the USDA method. Those are different claims and they are not interchangeable. A cooking program list without either, as on the Instant Pot and Midea, tells you the maker has not addressed sterilization in the published features.

Then check what is not stated. None of the five listings gives a sterilization temperature or time, so no comparison of sterilization effectiveness can be made from the fact sheet. Capacity figures such as 23 quarts for the Presto, 22 quarts for the T-fal, 8 quarts for the Midea and 6 quarts for the Instant Pot and Cosori describe volume, not sterilization performance. If a documented cycle matters to you, ask the maker for it directly; the listings here do not contain it.

Common questions

Does the Instant Pot Duo have a sterilize setting?

The Instant Pot Duo 6 Qt lists seven cooking functions: pressure cook, slow cook, sauté, steam, rice, yogurt and keep warm, with 13 one-touch programs. Sterilize is not among the listed functions. The maker does not publish a sterilization temperature or hold time for this model, so the listing does not establish a sterilization cycle.

Can the Presto 01781 be used for sterilization?

The Presto 01781 is a 23 quart pressure canner and cooker. The maker states it is the only method recommended safe by the US Department of Agriculture for canning vegetables, meats, poultry and seafood, and that it has a pressure dial gauge registering the complete range of processing pressures. The maker does not list a sterilization program or publish a sterilization temperature or time.

What size pressure cooker do I need for jars?

Jar capacity is published per model. The Presto 01781 holds 26 half-pints, 20 pints or 7 quarts. The T-fal 22-Quart holds up to 24 half-pint jars, 16 wide-mouth pint jars, 18 pint jars or 7 quart jars per batch. The electric picks list total volume only: 6 quarts for the Instant Pot Duo and Cosori, and 8 quarts for the Midea. None of these figures describes sterilization performance.

Do any of these pressure cookers publish a sterilization temperature?

No. None of the five makers publishes a sterilization temperature, a hold time, or a claim that the appliance meets a sterilization standard. The Cosori lists a Sterilize function among its programs, but the maker does not state what temperature or duration that program uses. This site has not measured sterilization performance for any of these appliances.

Is a stovetop canner better than an electric pressure cooker for sterilization?

The published listings do not answer that. The Presto and T-fal makers describe USDA-recommended pressure canning methods, which is a canning claim. The Cosori maker lists a Sterilize program but publishes no temperature or time. Because no maker publishes sterilization figures, the fact sheet cannot rank the two types on sterilization effectiveness.

What safety features do the electric picks list?

The Instant Pot Duo lists over 10 safety mechanisms, including overheat protection and an easy seal safety lid lock, and is UL and ULC Listed at 1000 watts, 120 V 60 Hz. The Midea lists a REALSAFE SYSTEM with pressure limit, over temperature and overpressure automatic release. The Cosori lists 12 safety features, including a double-layer anti-scalding lid and overheat protection. These are safety claims, not sterilization claims.