Lush Food & Drink

Buying Guide ·Coffee

Best Burr Coffee Grinders for Fast Weekday Mornings

The deciding figure is the published hopper capacity, which sets how many cups you can grind before a refill.

By the Lush Editorial Team·Researched & Compared

  • Researched & ComparedSpecs pulled from the manufacturer listing
  • Like-for-LikeSame measures across every model
  • No Paid PlacementsNobody pays to appear here

Five burr grinders compared on the specifications their makers publish, including hopper capacity, grind settings and dimensions.

Our shortlist

Five products, one set of published numbers.
  1. Electric Coffee Grinder for Home: Automatic Conical ...
    Best hopper capacity for a week of cups

    Electric Coffee Grinder for Home: Automatic Conical ...

    Lists a 120g expandable hopper and 25 settings.

    • CAUKINS
    • medium size
    • 1.95 lb
  2. SHARDOR 64mm Burr Coffee Grinder
    Most grind settings

    SHARDOR 64mm Burr Coffee Grinder

    Lists 100 programmable settings and a 17.6oz hopper.

    • SHARDOR
    • Large
    • 11.44 lb
  3. OXO Brew Conical Burr Electric Coffee Bean Grinder -...
    Best for remembering the last setting

    OXO Brew Conical Burr Electric Coffee Bean Grinder -...

    One-touch start returns to the last grind setting.

    • OXO
    • Full Size
    • 4.47 lb
  4. Hamilton Beach Electric Burr Coffee Grinder with Lar...
    Best for grinding herbs and spices too

    Hamilton Beach Electric Burr Coffee Grinder with Lar...

    The maker states the 18 settings suit herbs and spices.

    • Hamilton Beach
    • 16oz
    • 3.2 lb
  5. TIMEMORE Chestnut C3S Pro Manual Coffee Grinder
    Lightest of the five

    TIMEMORE Chestnut C3S Pro Manual Coffee Grinder

    Weighs 0.95 lb and needs no outlet.

    • TIMEMORE
    • Chestnut C3S Pro
    • 0.95 lb

Side by side

Blank means the maker does not publish it.
ModelBrandSize (capacity)WeightBest for
Electric Coffee Grinder for Home: Automatic Conical ... CAUKINS medium size 1.95 lb Best hopper capacity for a week of cups
SHARDOR 64mm Burr Coffee Grinder SHARDOR Large 11.44 lb Most grind settings
OXO Brew Conical Burr Electric Coffee Bean Grinder -... OXO Full Size 4.47 lb Best for remembering the last setting
Hamilton Beach Electric Burr Coffee Grinder with Lar... Hamilton Beach 16oz 3.2 lb Best for grinding herbs and spices too
TIMEMORE Chestnut C3S Pro Manual Coffee Grinder TIMEMORE Chestnut C3S Pro 0.95 lb Lightest of the five

Each pick in detail

What the listing says for it, and against it.
1 Best hopper capacity for a week of cups

Electric Coffee Grinder for Home: Automatic Conical ...

Lists a 120g expandable hopper and 25 settings.

  • For it
  • Lists a 120g expandable bean hopper
  • 25 precision grind settings
  • Removable grinding chamber for cleaning
  • Maker states a quiet operation
  • Against it
  • Weight is not published
  • No portafilter cradle is listed
2 Most grind settings

SHARDOR 64mm Burr Coffee Grinder

Lists 100 programmable settings and a 17.6oz hopper.

  • For it
  • Lists 100 programmable grind settings
  • 17.6oz hopper
  • 64mm stainless steel flat burr
  • Adjustable portafilter holder
  • Against it
  • Weighs 11.44 lb
  • No capacity in grams is published
3 Best for remembering the last setting

OXO Brew Conical Burr Electric Coffee Bean Grinder -...

One-touch start returns to the last grind setting.

  • For it
  • One-touch start remembers the last setting
  • 15 settings plus 43 micro-adjustments
  • 12 ounce removable hopper
  • UV-blocking tint on the hopper
  • Against it
  • No portafilter cradle is listed
  • Weight is 4.47 lb
4 Best for grinding herbs and spices too

Hamilton Beach Electric Burr Coffee Grinder with Lar...

The maker states the 18 settings suit herbs and spices.

  • For it
  • 18 grind settings
  • 16 ounce bean hopper
  • 2 to 14 cup selector
  • Dishwasher-safe containers and lids
  • Against it
  • Weighs 3.2 lb
  • No micro-adjustments are listed
5 Lightest of the five

TIMEMORE Chestnut C3S Pro Manual Coffee Grinder

Weighs 0.95 lb and needs no outlet.

  • For it
  • Weighs 0.95 lb
  • Foldable crank handle
  • 36 grind levels
  • No cord or outlet needed
  • Against it
  • Hopper capacity is not published
  • Manual operation takes more turns than an electric model

Our verdict

For quick weekday meal preparation, the grinder that removes the most steps is the one whose published hopper holds enough beans for several days and whose settings change with one dial. The CAUKINS lists a 120g hopper and 25 settings. The SHARDOR 64mm flat burr lists a 17.6oz hopper and 100 settings. The OXO Brew lists 12 ounces and 15 settings plus 43 micro-adjustments. The Hamilton Beach lists 16 ounces and 18 settings. The TIMEMORE C3S Pro is manual and lists 36 settings, with no hopper capacity published.

“Capacity and settings decide the weekday grind.”

Lush Editorial Team

What separates these five

Hopper capacity sets the refill rhythm The CAUKINS lists a 120g hopper and the SHARDOR lists 17.6oz. A larger published hopper means fewer refills before the weekday grind.
Settings decide how fast you dial in The SHARDOR lists 100 settings and the CAUKINS lists 25. More settings can mean finer steps between brew methods, as the makers state.
Dimensions decide counter space The TIMEMORE lists 2.05 inches wide and the SHARDOR lists 8.9 inches wide. The footprint you can spare narrows the list before capacity matters.
One-touch start removes a reset The OXO Brew states it remembers the last setting, so the same dose and grind return with one push.
Manual grinding removes the outlet The TIMEMORE C3S Pro weighs 0.95 lb and folds its handle. It needs no cord, which the maker states suits travel and camping.

How we chose

Priorities, not a computed score. The inputs are published specifications, so we rank by what matters most and say how much.

  1. 30% Published hopper capacityA larger hopper means fewer refills during a weekday routine, and capacity is the figure most often published.
  2. 25% Grind settingsMore settings can shorten the search for a brew method, but only the count is published, not the result.
  3. 20% Published dimensionsCounter space is fixed, so the listed width, depth and height decide whether a grinder fits.
  4. 15% One-touch and memory featuresA grinder that returns to the last setting removes a reset step each morning.
  5. 10% Published cleaning featuresRemovable parts and included brushes shorten cleanup, as the makers state.

How the Five Compare on the Numbers

The five picks differ most on published hopper capacity. The SHARDOR 64mm flat burr grinder lists 17.6oz, the Hamilton Beach lists 16 ounces, the OXO Brew lists 12 ounces and the CAUKINS lists 120g. The TIMEMORE C3S Pro does not publish a hopper capacity. A larger published hopper means fewer refills before a weekday grind, which is the step this page weighs most heavily.

Grind settings separate them next. The SHARDOR lists 100 programmable settings, the TIMEMORE lists 36 levels, the CAUKINS lists 25 and the Hamilton Beach lists 18. The OXO Brew lists 15 settings plus 43 micro-adjustments. The makers publish the counts, not the grind results, so the counts are what this page compares.

Specification CAUKINS SHARDOR 64mm flat burr OXO Brew Hamilton Beach TIMEMORE C3S Pro
Published hopper capacity 120g 17.6oz 12 oz 16 oz not published
Grind settings 25 100 15 plus 43 micro-adjustments 18 36 levels
Burr type Conical 64mm flat, stainless steel 40mm conical, stainless steel Burr, type not stated S2C conical, stainless steel
Width 3.9 in 8.9 in 5.3 in 5.25 in 2.05 in
Depth 6.3 in 14.4 in 7.5 in 8.13 in 5.79 in
Height 7.5 in 16.1 in 12.9 in 11.75 in 5.79 in
Weight 1.95 lb not published 4.47 lb 3.2 lb 0.95 lb
Power source Electric Electric, 120V only Electric Electric Manual
Portafilter cradle not published Adjustable not published not published not published

The table does not tell you how long any grinder takes to grind a dose, how loud it is, or how evenly it grinds. None of the five makers publishes grind time in seconds or noise in decibels. The settings counts are published, but the grind each setting produces is not measured here. The table also leaves out the weight of the SHARDOR 64mm flat burr grinder, which the maker does not publish.

Capacity and Settings for the Weekday Grind

What the hopper figures mean

The SHARDOR 64mm flat burr grinder lists a 17.6oz hopper, the largest published capacity among the five. The Hamilton Beach lists 16 ounces and the OXO Brew lists 12 ounces. The CAUKINS lists 120g, which is about 4.2 ounces. A larger published hopper means fewer refills, which is the step this page weighs most heavily for a weekday routine.

The TIMEMORE C3S Pro does not publish a hopper capacity. Its maker states a 25g capacity in the product title, but the fact sheet does not list a hopper figure, so this page does not treat it as one. If capacity matters most, the SHARDOR and Hamilton Beach publish the largest figures.

What the settings counts mean

The SHARDOR 64mm flat burr grinder lists 100 programmable settings, the most among the five. The TIMEMORE lists 36 levels, the CAUKINS lists 25 and the Hamilton Beach lists 18. The OXO Brew lists 15 settings plus 43 micro-adjustments. More settings can mean finer steps between brew methods, as the makers state, but the counts are not a measure of grind quality.

The CAUKINS states that its 25 settings cover espresso to French press. The Hamilton Beach states that its 18 settings cover extra-fine to coarse. The OXO Brew states that its 15 settings plus micro-adjustments cover espresso to cold brew. Each maker publishes a range, not a result.

Footprint, Power and Cleaning

Counter space and weight

The TIMEMORE C3S Pro lists 2.05 inches wide, 5.79 inches deep and 5.79 inches tall, the smallest published footprint of the five. The SHARDOR 64mm flat burr grinder lists 8.9 inches wide, 14.4 inches deep and 16.1 inches tall, the largest. The CAUKINS lists 3.9 inches wide and 7.5 inches tall.

Weight follows the same split. The TIMEMORE weighs 0.95 lb, the lightest of the five. The SHARDOR 64mm flat burr grinder does not publish a weight. The OXO Brew weighs 4.47 lb and the Hamilton Beach weighs 3.2 lb. A lighter grinder is easier to move, but the published weight says nothing about grind quality.

Power and cleaning

The TIMEMORE C3S Pro is manual and needs no outlet. The other four are electric. The SHARDOR 64mm flat burr grinder states 120V only and warns that 220V will damage it. The CAUKINS states a removable grinding chamber for cleaning. The Hamilton Beach states that its containers and lids are dishwasher safe.

The OXO Brew states a UV-blocking tint on its hopper. The SHARDOR 64mm flat burr grinder states an anti-static system and a stainless steel grounds container. The CAUKINS states a simplified maintenance routine with removable parts. None of the five publishes a cleaning time.

Which One Fits Your Kitchen

Large households. The SHARDOR 64mm flat burr grinder lists a 17.6oz hopper and 100 settings. It is the largest published capacity among the five, and its 8.9 inch width needs counter room.

Small kitchens. The CAUKINS lists 3.9 inches wide and 7.5 inches tall, with a 120g hopper and 25 settings. It fits a narrow strip of counter and still holds a published capacity.

Set-and-forget mornings. The OXO Brew states a one-touch start that remembers the last setting. It lists 12 ounces and 15 settings plus 43 micro-adjustments.

One grinder for coffee and spices. The Hamilton Beach states that its 18 settings suit herbs and spices too. It lists a 16 ounce hopper and a 2 to 14 cup selector.

Travel and no outlet. The TIMEMORE C3S Pro weighs 0.95 lb and folds its handle. It lists 36 grind levels and needs no cord.

What We Could Not Verify

Several figures a weekday buyer might want are not published by the makers.

  • Grind time in seconds for a single dose is not published for any of the five.
  • Noise in decibels is not published for any of the five.
  • The weight of the SHARDOR 64mm flat burr grinder is not published.
  • The hopper capacity of the TIMEMORE C3S Pro is not published.
  • The weight of the CAUKINS is published as 1.95 lb, but its capacity in ounces is not stated beyond 120g.
  • No maker publishes a grind result or particle distribution figure for any setting.

Frequently asked questions

What makes a burr grinder quick for weekday meal preparation?+

The published figures that matter are hopper capacity and the number of grind settings. A larger hopper, such as the 120g listed for the CAUKINS or the 17.6oz listed for the SHARDOR, means fewer refills. More settings, such as the 100 listed for the SHARDOR, can mean finer steps between brew methods. Neither figure is a measurement of speed.

Which of the five has the largest published hopper?+

The SHARDOR 64mm flat burr grinder lists a 17.6oz hopper, the largest published capacity among the five. The Hamilton Beach lists 16 ounces, the OXO Brew lists 12 ounces and the CAUKINS lists 120g. The TIMEMORE C3S Pro does not publish a hopper capacity.

Which one suits a small counter?+

The TIMEMORE C3S Pro lists 2.05 inches wide, 5.79 inches deep and 5.79 inches tall, the smallest published footprint of the five. The SHARDOR 64mm flat burr grinder lists 8.9 inches wide, 14.4 inches deep and 16.1 inches tall, the largest. The CAUKINS lists 3.9 inches wide.

Do any of these grinders remember the last setting?+

The OXO Brew Conical Burr grinder states a one-touch start that remembers the last setting. The Novalife lists a memory function, but it is not one of the five picks. The other four picks do not state a memory feature in their published features.

Which one can grind herbs and spices?+

The Hamilton Beach states that its 18 precision grind settings are great for herbs and spices too. None of the other four picks states that it grinds anything beyond coffee beans. Check the maker's guidance before grinding spices in any grinder.

Which one needs no outlet?+

The TIMEMORE C3S Pro is a manual grinder with a foldable crank handle and no cord. It weighs 0.95 lb, the lightest of the five. The other four are electric and need a power source. The SHARDOR 64mm flat burr grinder states 120V only.

Specifications come from the manufacturers' own published listings. Lush Food & Drink may earn a commission if you buy through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. How we research.